TOP BAR - Fixtures

Saracens name side for Bedford clash

Saracens name side for Bedford clash

Saracens have named their side to face Bedford Blues at Goldington Road on Friday evening kick-off 19h45 as the north Londoners begin their preseason campaign away to the Greene King IPA Championship outfit.

The Allianz Park side will have three new faces in their starting XV, as Sean Maitland, Alex Lozowski and former Bedford man Mark Flanagan are all included.

Scotland international Maitland starts at full-back, with the summer signing from London Irish linking up with Chris Ashton and Mike Ellery in the Sarries back three.

At centre, Nick Tompkins partners Marcelo Bosch whilst in the halves, Alex Lozowski and Ben Spencer are named at fly-half and scrum half respectively.

Saracens’ Springbok forward Schalk Brits will skipper the side from hooker, and he is joined by Richard Barrington (loosehead) and Juan Figallo (tighthead) in the front row.

Jim Hamilton starts in the number four jersey alongside new recruit Mark Flanagan, with Joel Conlon (openside), Michael Rhodes (blindside) and Jackson Wary (No8) named in the back row.

Speaking about Friday’s clash, director of rugby Mark McCall said: "We’ve had a very productive preseason campaign and we’re looking forward to our first hit-out on Friday night. It’s very important that we have the chance to work on our game ahead of what I believe will be one of the most competitive Aviva Premiership seasons to date.

"With the special relationship we have with Bedford, we’ve faced the Blues in a number of warm-up games over the years. In the past, these fixtures have had a mutual benefit for both club’s and I’m sure Friday’s clash will be no different as we prepare for the upcoming 2016/17 campaign."

Saracens side to face Bedford Blues

15 Sean Maitland
14 Chris Ashton
13 Marcelo Bosch
12 Nick Tompkins
11 Mike Ellery
10 Alex Lozowski
9 Ben Spencer

1 Richard Barrington
2 Schalk Brits (c)
3 Juan Figallo
4 Jim Hamilton
5 Mark Flanagan
6 Michael Rhodes
7 Joel Conlon
8 Jackson Wray

16 Scott Spurling
17 Ralph Adams-Hale
18 Petrus Du Plessis
19 Nick Isiekwe
20 Ben Earl
21 Henry Taylor
22 George Perkins
23 Tom Griffiths
Samu Vunisa*
Max Malins*
Matt Gallagher*
Jack Nay*
Billy Walker*
*blank numbers

To get all the latest news from Premiership Rugby sign up to our Newsletter

For more news, try out News Press Saracens