Fixtures - Top Bar

Laidlaw named Scotland captain for World Cup

Gloucester Rugby scrum-half Greig Laidlaw has been named Scotland captain for the Rugby World Cup campaign.

Laidlaw, who joined the Cherry & Whites last summer, is one of three scrum-halves in Vern Cotter’s squad alongside Sam Hidalgo-Clyne and Henry Pyrgos.

Harlequins new boy Tim Visser is also among the 31 selections, one of four wingers with London Irish’s Sean Maitland, Sean Lamont and Tommy Seymour.

In the front row, Newcastle Falcons prop Jon Welsh has made the cut but there was no such luck for another pair of Aviva Premiership Rugby forwards, London Irish flanker Blair Cowan and Saracens lock Jim Hamilton missing out.

Scotland take their place in Pool B, where they will face South Africa, Samoa, Japan and the USA in search of a quarter-final berth.
Scotland World Cup squad:
Al Dickinson (Edinburgh), Ryan Grant (Glasgow), WP Nel (Edinburgh), Gordon Reid (Glasgow), Jon Welsh (Newcastle Falcons), Fraser Brown (Glasgow), Ross Ford (Edinburgh), Stuart McInally (Edinburgh), Jonny Gray (Glasgow), Richie Gray (Castres), Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh), Tim Swinson (Glasgow), David Denton (Edinburgh), Josh Strauss (Glasgow), Ryan Wilson (Glasgow), John Hardie (unattached), Alasdair Strokosch (Perpignan)
BACKS: Greig Laidlaw (Gloucester, capt), Henry Pyrgos (Glasgow), Sam Hidalgo-Clyne (Edinburgh), Finn Russell (Glasgow), Duncan Weir (Glasgow), Mark Bennett (Glasgow), Matt Scott (Edinburgh), Peter Horne (Glasgow), Richie Vernon (Glasgow), Stuart Hogg (Glasgow), Sean Lamont (Glasgow), Sean Maitland (London Irish), Tommy Seymour (Glasgow), Tim Visser (Harlequins)

Latest News

Don Armand targeting big final push with Exeter Chiefs

Don Armand insists Exeter Chiefs will make the most of time off to ensure they are in fine fettle for…

Don Armand

RFU Disciplinary: Bryce Heem

Bryce Heem of Worcester Warriors will appear before an RFU Disciplinary panel this evening charged with tackling the jumper in…

Gloucester Rugby respond to rumours regarding Carl Fearns

Gloucester Rugby have today responded to a story in the French press alleging that Carl Fearns will not be joining…


Chew Valley champing at the bit for Twickenham outing following Bath Rugby’s Land Rover Premiership Rugby Cup

Lewis Kenyon and his Chew Valley U12s team were left grinning from ear to ear after securing a spot as part…

Aviva Premiership Rugby Weekend Round-up

Christian Wade made the difference, according to director of rugby Dai Young, as Wasps booked their place in the Aviva…

Match Reaction: Wasps 40 Worcester Warriors 33

Wasps director of rugby Dai Young has urged improvement from his side after they were given a scare by Worcester Warriors on…

Match Reaction: Saracens 53 Bath Rugby 10

Brad Barritt believes Saracens’ desire not to take their foot off the pedal proved the decisive factor as an eight-try…

Mark Bennett appointed RFU Head of Sport Science and Medicine

Mark Bennett is to join the Rugby Football Union (RFU) as Head of Sports Science and Medicine. Taking up the…

Match Report: Saracens 53 Bath Rugby 10

Chris Ashton scored twice to become the record scorer at Allianz Park as Saracens enjoyed a fruitful afternoon to keep…

Match Report: Wasps 40 Worcester Warriors 33

Wasps extended their advantage at the top of Aviva Premiership Rugby with a hard-fought victory over Worcester Warriors in an…