TOP BAR - Fixtures

Gloucester Rugby make two changes for Sunday’s trip to Wasps

Gloucester Rugby make two changes for Sunday’s trip to Wasps

Gloucester Rugby keep faith with the majority of the side that started against Saracens last weekend, making just two changes to the pack for Sunday’s Aviva Premiership fixture at Wasps.

Both changes are enforced. Ross Moriarty is away on Wales duty so Lewis Ludlow lines up on the blindside flank, while Salesi Ma’afu, who left the field injured against Saracens, hasn’t recovered and is replaced by Paul Doran-Jones.

The Cherry and Whites won the first meeting between the two sides this season, by 36 points to 18 at Kingsholm back in November, but are expecting Wasps to be a far different proposition on their own turf.

However, Director of Rugby David Humphreys felt Gloucester got back to where they aim to be in last weekend’s win over Saracens.

“Our focus really has been on ourselves this week. We believe that the performance at Leicester was a bit of a blip in what has been a pretty consistent season so far.

“We’ve set a high bar for ourselves and, yes, the results haven’t always gone the way we like. But, in most games, the key fundamental parts of our game have been there. I thought last weekend, the way we managed the game and stuck to what we wanted to do, that paved the way for the win.

“We know the challenge that Wasps pose all around the pitch, they’re an outstanding team. That in itself has given us a really good focus this week as we’ve prepared for Sunday afternoon.

“Previous results count for nothing. But if we keep our unforced errors and penalties conceded low, and we play with the same edge and physical presence in the tackle and set-piece, we know that the game we have can make us a match for anybody.”

Gloucester Rugby:

15. Tom Marshall; 14. Charlie Sharples, 13. Matt Scott, 12. Billy Twelvetrees, 11. David Halaifonua; 10. Billy Burns, 9. Willi Heinz (capt); 1. Josh Hohneck, 2. Richard Hibbard, 3. Paul Doran-Jones; 4. Tom Savage, 5. Jeremy Thrush; 6. Lewis Ludlow, 7. Jacob Rowan, 8. Ben Morgan


16. Motu Matu’u, 17. Yann Thomas, 18. John Afoa, 19. Mariano Galarza, 20. Sione Kalamafoni, 21. Callum Braley, 22. James Hook, 23. Henry Trinder

Unavailable for selection:

Paddy McAllister, Salesi Ma’afu, Gareth Evans, Ross Moriarty, Greig Laidlaw, Mark Atkinson, Andy Symons, Ollie Thorley, Jonny May

To get all the latest news from Premiership Rugby sign up to our Newsletter