Fixtures - Top Bar

George Smith wins the double at Wasps’ Awards 2016

George Smith, won the double at Wasps’ Awards at the Ricoh Arena on Tuesday 3 May.

Smith, who joined Wasps on a one-season contract, was voted ‘Players’ Player of the Season’ and ‘Supporters’ Player of the Season.’
The Australian backrow picked up his club awards on the same day he was named on the RPA Players’ Player of the Year nominees list, once again being voted among the best in the business by his peers.
Smith fought off stiff competition from All Black Charles Piutau, who has also made a phenomenal impact for Wasps during his season-long deal with the club, before joining up with Ulster in the summer.
Being voted for by his peers is no new experience for Smith, who was named ACT Brumbies Players’ Player eight years in row, as well as being named Super 14 Players’ Player of the Year four years running (2006-09).
Yet Smith was still humbled by the most recent recognition of his contribution to Wasps’ season, saying:
“I’m very honoured to receive the Player’s Player award.  I know about the legends that have been at this club and to receive this is fantastic. With the nominees that we had this season, it could have been a number of players within the squad. We have so many talented players in this team, so I’m very privileged and honoured to receive this award.
“It’s been a really good journey for me to be involved at this club. I didn’t know too much about the history of the club before I came here, but I knew the team had success in the past. Being signed by Dai and accepted into the team by all of the players here has been a great journey. I have really enjoyed my time here and I hope to end it on a good note.
“It’s also an honour to win an award voted for by our supporters, who come out to support us each week. When we arrive for each game the support at the gates to greet us when we get off the bus is amazing. You can sense the supporters behind you when you are on the field and I would like to say thank you for that support which the players really appreciate.”
Scrum half Dan Robson, who was also nominated on the 'Players’ Player of the Season' shortlist, walked away with the ‘Young Player of the Season’ trophy, as voted for by Wasps’ coaching team.
Academy Player of the Season went to 19-year-old back row Jack Willis.
Other winners recognised for their outstanding contribution to life at Wasps this season, included:
Club Person of the Season, sponsored by The Jade Studio – Pudsey Bevan (Kit Man)
Community Player of the Season, sponsored by Land Rover – Christian Wade for his work as Ambassador for the Hitz programme.
Outstanding Services to Wasps Award – Geoff Strange.
Try of the Season, sponsored by Coca Cola–Elliot Daly , for his try against Leinster as voted for by guests at the Awards ceremony at the Ricoh Arena.
Full Awards Nominees:
Players’ Player of the Season, sponsored by Premier Group

George Smith
Charles Piutau
Dan Robson
Young Player of the Season, sponsored by Trinity Mirror

Elliot Daly
Dan Robson
Thomas Young
Supporters’ Player of the Season, sponsored by EMC

Elliot Daly
Nathan Hughes
Charles Piutau
George Smith
Academy Player of the Season, sponsored by 5G Communications

Alexander Lundberg
Piers O’Conor
Will Stuart
Jack Willis
Club Person of the Season, sponsored by The Jade Studio

Pudsey Bevan
Jo Field
Gloria Sennitt
Community Player of the Season, sponsored by Land Rover

Christian Wade
Charles Piutau
Jimmy Gopperth

Latest News

Ex-England star Susie Appleby excited to lead Gloucester-Hartpury in inaugural Women’s Super Rugby campaign

Former England international Susie Appleby believes it’s an exciting time for women’s rugby as she issues a rallying cry to…

Wasps confirm 2017/18 pre-season schedule

Wasps have today confirmed their 2017/18 pre-season schedule, which will see them face Connacht Rugby and Ulster Rugby, as well…

Wasps celebrate

Quartet sign Academy contracts with Bath Rugby

Bath Rugby is delighted to confirm that Rhys Davies, Wil Partington, Miles Reid, and Kieran Verden have all signed long-term…

Todd Blackadder

Clare Daniels hoping to inspire the next generation of female rugby referees

The first female official in Aviva Premiership Rugby history, Clare Daniels, has urged girls and women to take up officiating…

Luke McLean enthused by London Irish move

Luke McLean is looking to reignite his international career under Italy Head Coach Conor O’Shea following his summer move to…

All Black Francis Saili joins Harlequins

Harlequins is excited to confirm today (Wednesday 21st June) that All Black Francis Saili has joined the Club. Commenting on…

Francis Saili

Bath Rugby sign Phillips from Bristol Rugby

Bath Rugby is pleased to announce the signing of James Phillips, who has joined the Club from Bristol Rugby until…


Nowell gets two tries as Lions see off Chiefs in Hamilton

Exeter Chiefs’ Jack Nowell returned to his sparkling best with two tries for the British & Irish Lions in their…

Nalaga a big coup for Irish says international teammate Tikoirotuma

Explosive wing Napolioni Nalaga can be an big hit in every sense of the word during next season's Aviva Premiership…

Masi and Everard return to Wasps alongside new Academy Manager Jonathan Pendlebury

Wasps are pleased to announce a new Academy structure ahead of the 2017/18 season. The new set-up sees former Yorkshire…

The new Wasps academy coaches

Sale Sharks announce signing of Australia international James O’Connor

Sale Sharks have announced the latest in a wave of world class signings, as they confirm Australian International James O’Connor…

Sale Sharks announce signing of Australia international James O’Connor

Lions prepared for final warm-up before All Blacks Test

After a crucial victory against the Maori All Blacks, the British & Irish Lions are just a single match away…

Wasps sign Paul Doran-Jones and David Langley

Wasps today confirm the signing of props Paul Doran-Jones and David Langley, while loosehead Tom Bristow is confirmed as leaving…

Paul Doran-Jones

Venter integral to Du Plessis opting to join London Irish

Petrus Du Plessis says Brendan Venter was a key factor in his decision to move to London Irish this summer.…

Fight and spirit shone through despite defeat, says England U20 coach Vass

Head coach Ian Vass hailed his England U20 side’s fight and spirit after they were beaten in the World Rugby…

Match Report: England U20s 17 New Zealand U20s 64

New Zealand ran in ten tries as they overpowered England in the final of the World Rugby Under 20s championship…

Aviva Premiership Rugby stars see home nations complete clean sweep

It’s been a busy weekend of international rugby and there were plenty of stand-out performances from a whole host of…

Supreme England secure series win in Argentina

Will Collier scored the winning try as England secured a hard-fought 2-0 series win against Argentina in another enthralling Test match.…

England name team for World Rugby U20 Championship final

England have named their team for the World Rugby U20 Championship final against New Zealand on Sunday (kick-off 3pm BST,…