TOP BAR - Fixtures

Owen Farrell named EPCR European Player of the Year

Owen Farrell named EPCR European Player of the Year

Owen Farrell capped off a memorable night at BT Murrayfield by being named EPCR European Player of the Year – presented by Turkish Airlines – and receiving the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy.

The Saracens fly-half scored 13 points as the holders of the European Rugby Champions Cup successfully defended their crown against ASM Clermont Auvergne in Edinburgh. As well as the prestigious accolade, the England international became the first recipient of the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy and scoops one million air miles courtesy of tournament partners, Turkish Airlines.

Farrell emerged as the winner from a shortlist of five players that also included his team-mate Maro Itoje, who won the award in 2016. ASM Clermont Auvergne’s Camille Lopez, Leinster Rugby’s Garry Ringrose and Munster Rugby’s CJ Stander were also nominated.

There was an unprecedented level of engagement during the public vote which was combined with the views of a distinguished panel of rugby experts to produce the season’s winner.

Past winners: Ronan O’Gara (Munster Rugby – best player of first 15 years of European club rugby tournaments); Sean O’Brien (Leinster Rugby) 2011; Rob Kearney (Leinster Rugby) 2012; Jonny Wilkinson (RC Toulon) 2013; Steffon Armitage (RC Toulon) 2014; Nick Abendanon (ASM Clermont Auvergne) 2015, Maro Itoje (Saracens) 2016

Judging Panel: Emmanuel Massicard (Editor, Midi Olympique), Stuart Barnes (Sky Sports/The Sunday Times), Mick Cleary (Rugby Correspondent, The Daily Telegraph), Matthieu Lartot (France Televisions), Dimitri Yachvili (beIN Sports), Brian O’Driscoll (BT Sport), Andy Nicol (BBC Sport)

To get all the latest news from Premiership Rugby sign up to our Newsletter

For more news, try out 2016-2017 Europe News Saracens