TOP BAR - Fixtures

England XV for South Africa packed with Aviva Premiership Rugby champions

England XV for South Africa packed with Aviva Premiership Rugby champions

Seven Aviva Premiership Rugby finalists have been named in Eddie Jones’ starting XV for England’s first Test against South Africa.

Champions Saracens can boast six representatives in the line-up to take on the Springboks at Ellis Park on Saturday.

Sarries star Owen Farrell captains the Red Rose for the first time, while colleague Nick Isiekwe makes his international debut and Mako Vunipola his 50th start.

Jamie George, Maro Itoje and Billy Vunipola will also be involved from the start of the game, kicking off at 16:05.

Henry Slade was on the losing side in the Aviva Premiership Rugby final with Exeter Chiefs but pips Alex Lozowski to the starting berth at outside centre.

Jones has opted for a Leicester Tigers half-back pairing with George Ford joining team-mate Ben Youngs in the backs.

Harlequins’ Mike Brown – who missed out in England’s last game, the Six Nations defeat to Ireland – has been recalled to a left-wing berth.

Versatile Wasps man Elliot Daly and Jonny May of Leicester Tigers, winning his 35th cap, join him in the back three.

Plenty of emerging Aviva Premiership Rugby prospects have made the squad, with Saracens scrum-half Ben Spencer in line for a debut.

Exeter’s Harry Williams, Northampton’s Piers Francis and Sale’s Denny Solomona are in the 22, with Wasps new recruit Brad Shields also set for an England bow.

England team to face South Africa at Ellis Park on Saturday 9 June:

15 Elliot Daly (Wasps, 18 caps)
14 Jonny May (Leicester Tigers, 34 caps)
13 Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 10 caps)
12 Owen Farrell (Saracens, 58 caps)
11 Mike Brown (Harlequins, 69 caps)
10 George Ford (Leicester Tigers, 45 caps)
9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 74 caps)

1 Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 49 caps)
2 Jamie George (Saracens, 25 caps)
3 Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins, 10 caps)
4 Maro Itoje (Saracens, 19 caps)
5 Nick Isiekwe (Saracens, 2 caps)
6 Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, 64 caps)
7 Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 1 cap)
8 Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 34 caps)

16 Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, 5 caps)
17 Joe Marler (Harlequins, 56 caps)
18 Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs, 8 caps)
19 Brad Shields (Hurricanes/ Wasps, 0 caps)
20 Nathan Hughes (Wasps, 14 caps)
21 Ben Spencer (Saracens, 0 caps)
22 Piers Francis (Northampton Saints, 3 caps)
23 Denny Solomona (Sale Sharks, 2 caps)

To get all the latest news from Premiership Rugby sign up to our Newsletter

For more news, try out All Clubs News