The award-winning HITZ programme

The award-winning HITZ programme

HITZ is Premiership Rugby’s award-winning education and employability programme which works with over 2,000 14-18 year-olds across England every year.

HITZ uses rugby’s core values of teamwork, respect, enjoyment, discipline and sportsmanship to get young people not in education, training or employment (NEET) back into education, training, apprenticeships and/or employment, and is delivered nationally by England’s 12 professional rugby clubs.

Our core offer, the HITZ Learning Academy, offers a relaxed environment targeted at 16-18 year olds to improve their functional maths and English, develop valuable life skills and gain important qualifications alongside experience from work placements and employer-led sessions. The programme also offers essential enrichment and sporting activities which supports the development of the whole individual through not only improving their mental but physical wellbeing as well.

Participants in the HITZ programme regularly report an increase in resilience, self-confidence and aspiration as a result of their involvement, and over 70% go on to achieve a positive progression into further education, training or employment.

HITZ is funded by partners Land Rover, Comic Relief and Wooden Spoon.

Club HITZ officer email
Bath Rugby Joe Aygul joe.aygul@bathrugby.com
Bristol Bears Nick George ngeorge@bristolbearsrugby.com
Exeter Chiefs Gareth Williams Garethwilliams@exeterchiefs.co.uk
Gloucester Rugby Matt Russell MattRussell@gloucesterrugby.co.uk
Harlequins Mark Kilgallon mark.kilgallon@quins.co.uk
Leicester Tigers Charlie Hurley charlie.hurley@tigers.co.uk
London Irish Ainsley Campbell Ainsley.Campbell@london-irish.com
Newcastle Falcons Darren Greco (interim) darren.greco@newcastle-falcons.co.uk
Northampton Saints Shirley Malin shirleymalin@northamptonsaints.co.uk
Sale Sharks Jon Travena john.travena@salesharks.com
Saracens Hal Sparke halsparke@saracens.net
Wasps Anthony O’Reilly anthony.oreilly@wasps.co.uk
Worcester Warriors Dan Hart dan.hart@warriors.co.uk

For more details please use this form:

 

MORE FROM NEWS

Five standout Gallagher Premiership Rugby stars from the World Rugby Under-20s Championship

The World Rugby Under-20s Championship is in the books for another year after France defended their title after edging a…

Leicester Tigers announce plans to sell club

Leicester Tigers has announced plans for the sale of the club alongside a full strategic review as part of long-term…

Umaga and Wolstenholme join Wasps first-team

Wasps have announced that Senior Academy fly-half Jacob Umaga has been promoted to the first-team – becoming the eighth player…

Ashton withdraws from England training squad

Sale Sharks' Chris Ashton has withdrawn from England’s World Cup training squad for family reasons. The 32 year old winger…

Ted Hill and Fraser Dingwall among tryscorers for England U20s

England sealed fifth place at the World Rugby U20 Championship with a 45-26 victory over Wales in Rosario, Argentina. England…

Prop Heyes agrees new deal with Tigers

Leicester Tigers are proud to announce that Joe Heyes has agreed new contract terms with the club. Heyes, who made…

Season Review: Worcester Warriors

After a difficult start to the season left them in a relegation scrap, Worcester Warriors secured their safety with a…

England U20s side to play Wales at World Rugby U20 Championship

England men U20s head coach Steve Bates has made three changes to his side to face Wales in their fifth-place…

Sign up to our newsletter

Keep up-to-date with all the latest Premiership Rugby news, ticketing news, information, offers and exclusive competitions