What is HITZ?

HITZ is one team, with one dream, to help young people find a better future.

We believe that every young person, no matter their background or ability, should have access to opportunities that help them fulfil their potential.

When young people are not sure of their next move, HITZ is here to support them.

Our HITZ Officers and Tutors are carefully chosen for their skills which allow them to really connect with young people. We get to know our students, building a rapport and earning trust and respect. We’re here to support when times feel tough as well as providing guidance to work out what to do next.

WHO IS HITZ FOR?

HITZ is for 14-24 years-olds who are unsure of what to do next. This uncertainty could be the result of many circumstances

  • School not being the right environment
  • Poor exam results
  • Mental and physical health struggles
  • Unsettled homelife and lack of support
  • Alcohol and/or drug use
  • Negative influences and trouble with the police

HOW CAN HITZ HELP YOUNG PEOPLE?

  • Support to change their life and change their future
  • Maths and English qualifications delivered in an environment that is different from school
  • Build skills to become more work ready, with support on CV writing and getting a job
  • Support for when times feel tough, improving physical and mental wellbeing
  • Our staff treat learners with respect, acting as role models to help everyone find their next step

LIKE THE SOUND OF ALL THIS?

Our HITZ programme runs across the country. To find out more about how you could join the #HITZFamily register your interest or find your local contact below:

Club HITZ Officer Email
Bath Rugby Edmund Anderson edmund.anderson@bathrugbyfoundation.com
Bristol Bears Nick George ngeorge@bristolbearsrugby.com
Exeter Chiefs Gareth Williams Garethwilliams@exeterchiefs.co.uk
Gloucester Rugby Dom Malone dominicmalone@gloucesterrugby.co.uk
Harlequins James Collins-Clark james.collins-clark@quins.co.uk
Leicester Tigers Tilly Higgs Tilly.Higgs@tigers.co.uk
London Irish
Newcastle Falcons Dave Shotton david.shotton@newcastle-falcons.co.uk
Northampton Saints Shirley Lynch Shirley.Lynch@northamptonsaintsfoundation.org
Sale Sharks Aimee Gray Aimee.gray@salesharks.com
Saracens
Worcester Warriors Dan Hart Dan.Hart@warriors.co.uk

For general enquiries about the programme, please contact Premiership Rugby directly:

Name Job title Email
Laylla Stanley Programme Delivery Manager lstanley@premiershiprugby.com

 

SUPPORTING YOUNG PEOPLE SINCE 2008

HITZ is Premiership Rugby’s flagship education and employability programme, supporting young people to make positive changes in their life.

Wayne Morris, Community & Corporate Social Responsibility Director at Premiership Rugby said

“Since starting in a field in the London Borough of Hackney in 2008, HITZ has gone from strength-to-strength, enabling us to help tackle inequality within our communities. HITZ showcases the ability of sport to inspire and motivate young individuals. We believe whole heartedly that all young people, no matter their background or ability, should have access to sporting opportunities which help them fulfil their potential.”

Supported by CVC, Wooden Spoon and East Head Impact, with Central YMCA as the programme’s official education provider, HITZ is delivered nationally by Premiership Rugby’s shareholder Clubs. It uses rugby’s core values of teamwork, respect, enjoyment, discipline and sportsmanship to inspire and motivate young people back into education, employment or apprenticeships.

  • Engaged over 20,000 young people since it was created in 2008
  • Works with around 2,000 learners across England every year
  • 84% of participants have improved their functional maths and English
  • Over 80% achieve a positive progression into further education, employment or training
  • 80% of participants express improved personal, employability and life skills
  • 80% express an improvement in their physical and mental wellbeing