TOP BAR - Fixtures

Harlequins announce squad to play Leicester Tigers

Harlequins announce squad to play Leicester Tigers

Harlequins are boosted by the return of four experienced players, Danny Care, Will Collier, James Horwill and Joe Marchant, to the match squad for tomorrow evening’s important home fixture with Leicester Tigers (kick-off 7.45pm at The Twickenham Stoop).

Care and Marchant return at scrum half and outside centre respectively with Gabriel Ibotye on the right wing in a set of backs with considerable attacking potential.

Horwill returns in the second row and Collier is listed among the game changers with Rob Buchanan who is set to make his first home appearance this season after only returning to competitive rugby a few weeks ago.

Looking forward to the match, Harlequins Head of Rugby Paul Gustard said: “Our performances of late have been pleasing as we enter the final stretch of the season. We have demonstrated throughout the year our resilience and tenacity and in the last two weeks we have yet again shown how competitive we are with strong outings at Clermont and Exeter.

“At Exeter we created a lot of pressure with our defence, created a lot of space in our attack and dominated them with our scrum. We know Leicester pride themselves in this area and have a couple of ‘savvy’ operators so it’s a battle we look forward to and one in which we will trust the referee to officiate the Tigers keenly.

“We are still fighting to be in the top four and we’ll be giving our all for that tomorrow evening. Tigers are a strong outfit with lots of excellent players and whose results don’t always reflect their performances. They are a proud club and we will respect them as we do all our opponents. That said we must focus on ourselves as that’s all we can control. We have had a good week’s preparation and we are pleased to welcome back a few of our injured boys in this crucial fixture.

“We’re looking forward to seeing and hearing The Stoop rocking and rolling tomorrow evening. ‘Friday Night Lights’ at home is an incredible atmosphere and we want it full and we want it loud!”


15. Mike Brown; 14. Gabriel Ibitoye; 13. Joe Marchant; 12. Ben Tapuai; 11. Charlie Walker; 10. Marcus Smith; 9. Danny Care; 1. Joe Marler; 2. Elia Elia; 3. Kyle Sinckler; 4. Mat Symons; 5. James Horwill (CC); 6. Alex Dombrandt; 7. Chris Robshaw (CC); 8. Jack Clifford.

Game Changers

16. Rob Buchanan; 17. Nic Auterac; 18. Will Collier; 19. Stan South; 20. Semi Kunatani; 21. Sam Hildago-Clyne; 22. James Lang; 23. Ross Chisholm.

Not considered for selection

Front Row: Max Crumpton, Mark Lambert, Josh McNulty.

Second Row: Ben Glynn, Dino Lamb.

Back Row: James Chisholm.

Half Backs: Dave Lewis, Charlie Mulchrone, Calum Waters

Centres: Henry Cheeseman, Paul Lasike, Francis Saili.

Wingers: Nathan Earle, Aaron Morris, Cadan Murley.

To get all the latest news from Premiership Rugby sign up to our Newsletter

Sign up to our newsletter

Keep up-to-date with all the latest Premiership Rugby news, ticketing news, information, offers and exclusive competitions