Jump to main content
Premiership Rugby

What happened in the 2017 Premiership Rugby 7s Series

What happened in the 2017 Premiership Rugby 7s Series

Generated by IJG JPEG Library

With the 2018 Premiership Rugby 7s Series just a week away, we look back at how the clubs fared in the last campaign.

The 2017 tournament saw the inaugural 12-team format and the first all-English affair in the eighth year of the competition.

In an incredible weekend spectacle last July, every Premiership side was locked into battle together at Franklin’s Gardens to fight for top spot.

Starting at the group stages, Wasps, Gloucester Rugby and Worcester Warriors all reigned supreme – earning successive victories to book their places in the quarter-finals.

Exeter Chiefs, Saracens, Newcastle Falcons, Harlequins and Sale Sharks also booked second round berths with solitary victories from their opening two matches.

Defending champions Wasps maintained their winning form, clinching a comfortable 21-10 victory over Sale as 2011 champions Newcastle Falcons edged out a close 28-24 win against Worcester Warriors.

Harlequins also secured their spot in the last four with an edgy 26-24 win over Gloucester, before 2016 runners-up Exeter Chiefs breezed past Saracens.

In a repeat of the 2016 final, Wasps faced Exeter Chiefs in the semi-finals, but again the Devon side fell short as the Ricoh Arena-based club grappled to a 21-17 win.

The second semi-final saw a high scoring affair as 2010 runners-up Newcastle Falcons proved too good for Harlequins as the Falcons reached the last two with a 29-24 victory.

Before the final got underway, the bowl and plate competitions had to be decided.

After both sides failed to get past the group stages, Northampton Saints faced Leicester Tigers in the bowl final and much to the delight of the home Franklin’s Gardens crowd – the Saints pulled off a sterling 24-21 win.

Elsewhere, defeated two-time champions and quarter-finalists Gloucester lifted the Premiership Rugby Sevens Series plate after a comfortable 22-12 win over Saracens.

Back in the main event, Newcastle Falcons were looking to exercise their demons and secure an inaugural Premiership Rugby Sevens Series success.

However, Wasps were the side that started quickest out of the blocks, taking the lead through scrum-half Dan Robson’s try, before Falcon’s Adam Radwan levelled with his seventh try of the campaign.

Wasps fell behind after England Sevens international Cameron Cowell crossed the line, but that only served to push Wasps on as 2016 final hero Christian Wade restored their lead before half-time.

The Falcons couldn’t match Wasps power after the break as player of the tournament Josh Bassett went over for his seventh try of the campaign.

Craig Hampson and Gabiriele Lovobalavu put Wasps out of sight to secure a 31-12 victory and defend their crown.

Next Story

Harlequins have a point to prove next season in Gallagher Premiership Rugby, admits Saili

Previous Story

Watson: Wasps want to win everything next season

Choose your club

Bath Rugby
Bristol Bears
Exeter Chiefs
Gloucester Rugby
Leicester Tigers
London Irish
Newcastle Falcons
Northampton Saints
Sale Sharks
Worcester Warriors
No Club