TOP BAR - Fixtures

Worcester Warriors name team to face Leicester Tigers

Worcester Warriors name team to face Leicester Tigers

Winger Perry Humphreys and flanker Sam Lewis will make their 50th appearances for Worcester Warriors in their Premiership Rugby Cup match against Leicester Tigers at Welford Road on Saturday (kick-off 3.00pm).

Humphreys will reach the half century landmark against the club where his career began. He was a member of Leicester’s Academy and made one first team appearance for them against Ospreys in the Anglo-Welsh Cup in 2013.

He joined the Three Pears Warriors Academy the following year and was a member of the Warriors squad that won the British & Irish Cup in 2015.

Humphreys joined the senior squad at Sixways in 2016 and made a spectacular start to his Premiership career by scoring three tries in his first four matches in the top flight at the start of the 2016/season.

Lewis joined Warriors from Ospreys in March 2015 and announced himself by scoring four tries in five matches – including a hat-trick in the Championship semi-final second leg against London Scottish.

He missed the entire 2015/16 season because of a shoulder injury but returned to action in November 2016 and ended the campaign as Players’ and Coaches’ Player of the Season.

Humphreys and Lewis have been named in another strong starting XV as Warriors seek a fifth straight win in all competitions.

Tighthead prop Nick Schonert and blindside flanker Ted Hill start having been involved in England’s pre-Quilter Internationals training camp in Portugal last weekend.

Humphreys, who was a replacement full-back in the 35-3 victory over Sale Sharks in the first-ever match played in the Premiership Rugby Cup, starts on the left wing in place of Josh Adams and full-back Chris Pennell returns after recovering from a sore back.

The other change is in the second row where Darren Barry, who was a replacement against Sale, starts alongside Anton Bresler.

Worcester Warriors

15 Chris Pennell
14 Bryce Heem
13 Ollie Lawrence
12 Francois Venter
11 Perry Humphreys
10 Duncan Weir
9 Francois Hougaard

1 Callum Black
2 Jack Singleton
3 Nick Schonert
4 Anton Bresler
5 Darren Barry
6 Ted Hill
7 Sam Lewis
8 GJ van Velze (C)


16 Niall Annett
17 Ethan Waller
18 Gareth Milasinovich
19 Andrew Kitchener
20 Matt Cox
21 Michael Heaney
22 Jamie Shillcock
23 Wynand Olivier

To get all the latest news from Premiership Rugby sign up to our Newsletter