TOP BAR - Fixtures

Tigers announce team for trip to Racing 92

Tigers announce team for trip to Racing 92

Australia international duo Matt Toomua and Tatafu Polota-Nau return to the Leicester Tigers starting line-up for the Heineken Champions Cup fixture against Racing 92 in Paris on Sunday.

The Wallabies pair both played off the bench in the league game at Bristol last week but start the Pool 4 encounter at the Paris La Defense Arena.

Harry Wells and Mike Fitzgerald are added to the forward pack and Ben White starts at scrum-half.

Geordan Murphy, the Tigers interim head coach, said: “We were obviously very disappointed with the result at Bristol last week and we’ve thoroughly reviewed that, but we also have to look forward and try to put things right that we got wrong there.

“It’s unfortunate that we’ve lost Kyle Eastmond to a ban because he’s been very good for us in the autumn period, but it’s brilliant to be able to bring in Matt Toomua who is a world-class player in that role.

“Ben Youngs is coming out of a tough period of international rugby and we want to manage his body and workload. It’s also a good opportunity for Ben White, on a flat and fast track, to get some well-deserved gametime. We’re excited to see him in this environment and he’s impressed us with his maturity and work ethic.

“It’s a bonus for us to have a player of Ben Youngs’ quality to come into the game from the bench, especially in terms of experience, and he has been excellent all week around the group, like all of our internationals who are settling back in after the autumn Tests.”

Campese Ma’afu and Will Evans are included among the replacements and Guy Thompson returns after missing the last two games with the leg injury suffered at Gloucester.

Leicester Tigers (v Racing 92, away, Sunday 4.15pm local / 3.15pm UK)

15 Jonah Holmes

14 Adam Thompstone

13 Manu Tuilagi

12 Matt Toomua

11 Jonny May

10 George Ford (c)

9 Ben White

1 Ellis Genge

2 Tatafu Polota-Nau

3 Dan Cole

4 Will Spencer

5 Harry Wells

6 Mike Fitzgerald

7 Brendon O’Connor

8 Sione Kalamafoni


16 Jake Kerr

17 Campese Ma’afu

18 Gaston Cortes

19 Mike Williams

20 Will Evans

21 Guy Thompson

22 Ben Youngs

23 Matt Smith

To get all the latest news from Premiership Rugby sign up to our Newsletter