TOP BAR - Fixtures

Saracens and Sale Sharks dominate Flats’ XV from Premiership Rugby Cup round 2

Saracens and Sale Sharks dominate Flats’ XV from Premiership Rugby Cup round 2

Five players who took part in Sale Sharks nail-biting 15-15 draw with Saracens make it into Flats’ XV following round two of the Premiership Rugby Cup.

The Saracens forwards are particularly well represented as youngster Joel Kpoku and flanker Calum Clark keep their places having been given the nod last week.

Their clubmate Ben Earl gets the shout at number eight with Leicester Tigers back-rower Sam Lewis also being selected.

Exeter’s solid display in the scrum also gets a nod as Moray Low and Greg Holmes are selected at loosehead and tighthead respectively.

Hooker Curtis Langdon completes the front row for his work rate in the loose for Sale.

In the backs, Newcastle centres Pedro Bettencourt and Chris Harris are recognised for their destructive display as they snuck past Harlequins 23-21 at the Stoop.

Portuguese international Bettencourt crossed for his side while Harris showed his power as he disrupted Falcons’ opposition in attack and defence.

Veteran Springbok Francois Hougaard, from Gloucester, is picked next to Sale’s Kieran Wilkinson, 19, in the half backs.

The youngster has provided a string of impressive performances recently at stand-off, including a penetrative display against Saracens this weekend.

It’s all West Country on the wings as Bristol’s Ryan Edwards and Bath’s Jack Wilson, who grabbed a double, are chosen out wide.

Meanwhile, 21-year-old Joe Simmonds from Exeter Chiefs gets the call for the No.15 shirt and may well have a shout for kicking duties after his crucial eight points with the boot against Bath this weekend.

Flats’ XV of Premiership Rugby Cup Round 2:

15. Joe Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs)

14. Jack Wilson (Bath Rugby)

13. Chris Harris (Newcastle Falcons)

12. Pedro Bettencourt (Newcastle Falcons)

11. Ryan Edwards (Bristol Bears)

10. Kieran Wilkinson (Sale Sharks)

9. Francois Hougaard (Worcester Warriors)

1. Moray Low (Exeter Chiefs)

2. Curtis Langdon (Sale Sharks)

3. Greg Holmes (Exeter Chiefs)

4. Graham Kitchener (Leicester Tigers)

5. Joel Kpoku (Saracens)

6. Calum Clark (Saracens)

7. Sam Lewis (Leicester Tigers)

8. Ben Earl (Saracens)

To get all the latest news from Premiership Rugby sign up to our Newsletter