TOP BAR - Fixtures

Northampton Saints and Saracens dominate Flats XV

Northampton Saints and Saracens dominate Flats XV

The Premiership Rugby Cup semi-finals saw two emphatic wins for Saracens and Northampton Saints as they progressed to the final – but who stood out most to David Flatman?

Unsurprisingly, Flats’ XV is dominated by players from the two winning teams, with seven Saracens and six Saints making up a strong outfit, including the entire forward pack.

Saracens players Richard Barrington and Tom Woolstencroft join flanker Sean Reffell after their side limited a strong Worcester Warriors side to 22 points.

Elsewhere, Number 8 Ben Earl caught the eye as his carry proved crucial to his team’s second try.

The rest of the forwards are made up of Saints’ Ehren Painter, Api Ratuniyawara, David Ribbans and Jamie Gibson, who assisted Ahsee Tuala’s try in their comeback win.

Saracens’ Tom Whiteley gets the nod for the coveted scrum-half spot after his early try helped give his side a commanding lead, while teammate Rotimi Segun crossing the line shortly after earned him a place in the XV.

He was backed up by Max Malins, who’s dummy and subsequent 60 metre sprint in the lead up to scoring wrestled back control for Saracens and earned him an appearance in the team.

Rory Hutchinson was rewarded for his involvement in two tries during a man-of-the-match performance with a place in Flats’ side.

He wonderfully set up George Furbank, who crossed to give the Saints hope after going down big early on.

The two losing sides also get some representation, with try scorer Josh Matavesi getting the nod after proving a vital cog in Newcastle Falcons’ early offensive blitz.

Making up the XV is Tom Howe, who latched onto his own kick to score and cut the deficit for the Worcester Warriors.


15. George Furbank (Northampton Saints)

14. Tom Howe (Worcester Warriors)

13. Rory Hutchinson (Northampton Saints)

12. Josh Matavesi (Newcastle Falcons)

11. Rotimi Segun (Saracens)

10. Max Malins (Saracens)

9. Tom Whiteley (Saracens)


1.Richard Barrington (Saracens)

2. Tom Woolstencroft (Saracens)

3. Ehren Painter (Northampton Saints)

4. Api Ratuniyawara (Northampton Saints)

5. David Ribbans (Northampton Saints)

6. Jamie Gibson (Northampton Saints)

7. Sean Reffell (Saracens)

8. Ben Earl (Saracens)



To get all the latest news from Premiership Rugby sign up to our Newsletter

Sign up to our newsletter

Keep up-to-date with all the latest Premiership Rugby news, ticketing news, information, offers and exclusive competitions