TOP BAR - Fixtures

Leicester Tigers name team to face Newcastle Falcons

Leicester Tigers name team to face Newcastle Falcons

Geordan Murphy takes charge of Leicester Tigers for the first time this Saturday and includes seven summer signings in the squad for the Gallagher Premiership fixture against Newcastle Falcons at Welford Road.

Former club captain Murphy leads the squad as interim head coach and includes new arrivals Kyle Eastmond, Will Spencer and David Denton in the Tigers starting line-up. Jimmy Stevens, Campese Ma’afu, David Feao and Guy Thompson, who all moved to Welford Road this summer, are among the replacements.

Eastmond comes into the backline alongside Manu Tuilagi at centre and, in another change to the team that started in Round 1 at Exeter Chiefs last week, Mike Williams is at lock in place of the injured Mike Fitzgerald.

Ma’afu and Thompson could make their Tigers debuts as replacements and Stevens could make the first appearance of his second spell with the club.

Coach Murphy said: “It’s been a busy week with the changes but the focus has all been about preparing for Newcastle on Saturday. We all felt we let ourselves down at Exeter last week, we didn’t impose our game on it and now we need a good performance back at Welford Road.”

Sione Kalamafoni makes his 100th Premiership appearance and, at the other end of the experience scale, England Under-20s cap Tom Hardwick could make his top-flight debut.

Leicester Tigers (v Newcastle Falcons, Welford Road, Saturday 3.00pm)

15 Telusa Veainu
14 Adam Thompstone
13 Manu Tuilagi
12 Kyle Eastmond
11 Jonny May
10 George Ford
9 Ben Youngs

1 Greg Bateman
2 Tom Youngs (c)
3 Dan Cole
4 Mike Williams
5 Will Spencer
6 David Denton
7 Brendon O’Connor
8 Sione Kalamafoni


16 Jimmy Stevens
17 Campese Ma’afu
18 David Feao
19 Harry Wells
20 Guy Thompson
21 Sam Harrison
22 Tom Hardwick
23 Jordan Olowofela

To get all the latest news from Premiership Rugby sign up to our Newsletter