TOP BAR - Fixtures

Leicester name team to face Ulster

Leicester name team to face Ulster

Leicester Tigers welcome international duo Matt Toomua and Tatafu Polota-Nau back into the matchday squad for the team’s opening game in the Heineken Champions Cup, away to Ulster Rugby in Belfast on Saturday.

Toomua and Polota-Nau return after international duty with Australia and are included among the replacements on Saturday as Tigers interim head coach Geordan Murphy makes just two changes to the starting line-up.

Jonny May misses out with the shoulder injury suffered in the win over Northampton Saints at Twickenham last Saturday, giving Jordan Olowofela an opportunity on the wing, and there is a change in the forward pack where David Denton is ruled out and Brendon O’Connor returns.

Murphy said: “We’ve picked up a few bumps and bruises but we’re also starting to get a few other players back from injury. Jonny May got a bang on the shoulder last week and there is no major damage so it will certainly not be a long-term injury. But injuries also give opportunities to others to come in and make a claim to the shirt.

“Europe is always tough, Ulster have a very good record at home and we’ve not done well there in the past, but the guys want to test themselves at the top table and we’re looking forward to it.”

Gareth Owen returns to the matchday 23 after missing the win over Saints, and Wales Under-20s captain Tommy Reffell is also included among the replacements.

Tigers return to home turf next Friday evening in Round 2 when the Scarlets are the visitors to Welford Road.

Match tickets are available now. Book in person, by phoning 0116 319 8888 (option 2) or online at

Leicester Tigers (v Ulster Rugby, Kingspan Stadium, Belfast, Saturday 5.30pm)
15 Jonah Holmes
14 Adam Thompstone
13 Manu Tuilagi
12 Kyle Eastmond
11 Jordan Olowofela
10 George Ford
9 Ben Youngs
1 Greg Bateman
2 Tom Youngs (c)
3 Dan Cole
4 Mike Williams
5 Harry Wells
6 Guy Thompson
7 Brendon O’Connor
8 Sione Kalamafoni

16 Tatafu Polota-Nau
17 David Feao
18 Joe Heyes
19 Sam Lewis
20 Tommy Reffell
21 Sam Harrison
22 Matt Toomua
23 Gareth Owen

To get all the latest news from Premiership Rugby sign up to our Newsletter

For more news, try out 2018-2019 Leicester Tigers News