TOP BAR - Fixtures

Jack Clifford to captain Harlequins against Newcastle Falcons

Jack Clifford to captain Harlequins against Newcastle Falcons

Jack Clifford will captain Harlequins against Newcastle Falcons in the Premiership Rugby Cup clash on Sunday at The Stoop (kick-off: 15:00).

Clifford, who played at number eight in Quins’ 19-27 victory over Bath in their opening Premiership Rugby Cup match last week, moves to flanker and Alex Dombrandt, scorer of a brilliant try in that Bath fixture, moves to number eight. Other changes in the forwards are Phil Swainston coming in at Tighthead and Dino Lamb starting in the second row.

In the backs Niall Saunders makes his first start for the Club at Scrum-Half, while Cadan Murley gets his first start of the season at Right wing. Ross Chisholm moves to Full-back and Tim Visser comes in on the Left wing. James Lang starts at Inside centre with Francis Saili moving to Outside.

Acting Head of Rugby Alex Codling said: “The Jack-man has made an excellent return to first team rugby over the past couple of weeks and we are delighted to see him lead the side out at our home on Sunday. His attitude and commitment has been first-class all season.

“Niall and Cadan have both earned their opportunity to start this weekend and, like many others, will be looking to stick their hands up and make selection ever harder for the coaching team.

“We enjoyed an excellent start to our Premiership Rugby Cup campaign last week at Bath with a 19-27 victory at The Rec with notable improvement in our attacking play while our defence, again, was excellent.

“It was another positive step for the squad this season as we strive to deliver that total performance. I have been very pleased with the effort and attitude of the whole squad in training all week and we relish the chance to take on Newcastle in front of our raucous support at The Stoop on Sunday afternoon.”

Harlequins XV to play Newcastle Falcons (kick-off: 15:00)

15. Ross Chisholm (92)
14. Cadan Murley (2)
13. Francis Saili (8)
12. James Lang (28)
11. Tim Visser (63)
10. Demetri Catrakilis (9)
9. Niall Saunders (1)

1. Lewis Boyce (20)
2. Dave Ward (148)
3. Phil Swainston (12)
4. Dino Lamb (13)
5. George Merrick (84)
6. Jack Clifford (Captain, 77)
7. Archie White (23)
8. Alex Dombrandt (2)

Game Changers

16. Elia Elia (22)
17. Nick Auterac (1)
18. Will Collier (134)
19. Ben Glynn (23)
20. Paul Lasike (6)
21. Dave Lewis (19)
22. Henry Cheeseman (14)
23. Aaron Morris (23)

Not considered for selection

Alofa Alofa
Renaldo Bothma
Mike Brown
Rob Buchanan
Danny Care
James Chisholm
Max Crumpton
Nathan Earle
James Horwill
Gabriel Ibitoye
Semi Kunatani
Mat Luamanu
Joe Marchant
Joe Marler
Chris Robshaw
Kyle Sinckler
Marcus Smith
Matt Symons
Ben Tapuai
Luke Wallace

To get all the latest news from Premiership Rugby sign up to our Newsletter