TOP BAR - Fixtures

Harlequins name squad for Premiership Rugby Cup opener

Harlequins name squad for Premiership Rugby Cup opener

Harlequins have named their squad to face Bath Rugby away in Round 1 of the 2018/19 Premiership Rugby Cup (Saturday 27th October, kick-off 15:00).

Going into their third tournament of the season, Harlequins have named a much-changed team for the trip to Bath. In the backline, Demetri Catrakilis and Alofa Alofa make their first starts of the season, while Ross Chisholm is named on the left wing.

In the forwards, there are first starts of the season for Lewis Boyce, Stan South and Jack Clifford while Alex Dombrandt makes his first ever start in a Harlequins shirt.

Among the game changers, there are returns from injury for Paul Lasike and James Lang, while Nick Auterac will look to make his Harlequins debut.

Charlie Mulchrone captains the side, with Dave Ward named as vice-captain.

Ahead of the match, Head Coach for the week, Mark Mapletoft said: “There is always an added incentive around the group when you start a new competition and we are all really looking forward to our opening Premiership Rugby Cup match at The Rec on Saturday.

“The tournament has been a hugely successful springboard for Harlequins players in the past and I am certain it will be again this year.”

Harlequins squad to play Bath Rugby (Harlequins appearances)

15. Aaron Morris (22)
14. Charlie Walker (90)
13. Alofa Alofa (58)
12. Francis Saili (7)
11. Ross Chisholm (91)
10. Demetri Catrakilis (8)
9. Charlie Mulchrone (Captain, 24)

1. Lewis Boyce (19)
2. Elia Elia (21)
3. Will Collier (133)
4. George Merrick (83)
5. Stan South (24)
6. Alex Dombrandt (1)
7. Archie White (22)
8. Jack Clifford (76)

Game changers

16. Dave Ward (Vice-captain, 147)
17. Nick Auterac (-)
18. Phil Swainston (11)
19. Dino Lamb (12)
20. Mat Luamanu (67)
21. Dave Lewis (18)
22. James Lang (27)
23. Paul Lasike (5)

Not considered for selection

Renaldo Bothma
Mike Brown
Rob Buchanan
Danny Care
James Chisholm
Max Crumpton
Nathan Earle
James Horwill
Gabriel Ibitoye
Semi Kunatani
Joe Marchant
Joe Marler
Chris Robshaw
Kyle Sinckler
Marcus Smith
Matt Symons
Ben Tapuai
Luke Wallace

To get all the latest news from Premiership Rugby sign up to our Newsletter