TOP BAR - Fixtures

Harlequins announce squad to play Exeter Chiefs

Harlequins announce squad to play Exeter Chiefs

Kyle Sinckler returns to the Harlequins starting XV following his man-of-the-match performance for England against Australia last weekend. The Tighthead prop re-joins the Quins front row alongside Joe Marler and Dave Ward for Friday night’s fixture against Exeter at The Stoop (kick-off: 19:45).

The rest of the forwards remain unchanged from the side that lined up against Worcester last week with James Chisholm again leading the side at number 8.

Gabriel Ibitoye makes a welcome return from injury on the wing in a back line which sees Danny Care and James Lang start as half-backs and Francis Saili at Inside centre.

Harlequins Head of Rugby Paul Gustard said: “Our last match at The Stoop was on a Friday under lights against Newcastle Falcons when we recorded a thoroughly deserving victory that took us to fifth in the Gallagher Premiership.

“We are now in a congested mid league position gaining at least one point from every fixture we have played in as we continue to develop strong foundations on which to build our Club.

“We were frustrated last week at Worcester where we dominated possession and territory but failed to maximise the opportunities of the nine clean breaks we made against a well organised defence.

“We have devoted a lot of time to our attack framework this week and continue to commit as much time to our attack as we do defence to maintain the strong tradition we have with attacking rugby which is the soul of the Club.

“Now we look forward to the visit of the league leaders. I have huge respect for Rob Baxter and his Exeter team present a very strong challenge. It is one we relish as a squad.”

Harlequins XV to play Exeter Chiefs (kick-off: 19:45)

15. Mike Brown (303)

14. Gabriel Ibitoye (8)

13. Joe Marchant (66)

12. Francis Saili (11)

11. Nathan Earle (10)

10. James Lang (31)

9. Danny Care (251)

1. Joe Marler (177)

2. Dave Ward (152)

3. Kyle Sinckler (127)

4. Matt Symons (11)

5. George Merrick (87)

6. Alex Dombrandt (6)

7. Jack Clifford (80)

8. James Chisholm (Captain, 65)

Game Changers

16. Max Crumpton (9)

17. Lewis Boyce (24)

18. Phil Swainston (16)

19. Ben Glynn (27)

20. Semi Kunatani (4)

21. Charlie Mulchrone (27)

22. Marcus Smith (39)

23. Cadan Murley (5)

Not considered for selection

Renaldo Bothma

Rob Buchanan

Demetri Catrakilis

Will Collier

Elia Elia

James Horwill

Mark Lambert

Aaron Morris

Chris Robshaw

Stan South

Tim Visser


To get all the latest news from Premiership Rugby sign up to our Newsletter