TOP BAR - Fixtures

Flats selects his XV from Round 14 of Gallagher Premiership Rugby

Flats selects his XV from Round 14 of Gallagher Premiership Rugby

Another pulsating weekend saw the emphatic return of Gallagher Premiership Rugby as Saracens’ surprise loss means Exeter Chiefs now sit on top of the league.

They were beaten 30-24 by an efficient Gloucester Rugby outfit, who are well represented in David Flatman’s XV alongside other players showing their offensive prowess.

Their second row pairing of Ed Slater and Franco Mostert make the XV as they helped limit a usually rampant Saracens’ side, while flanker Jaco Kriel also makes the grade.

In front of them, No.8 Ben Morgan, who ran in two tries to secure Gloucester’s victory, takes the all-important berth despite stiff competition.

Read more from the most exciting club rugby league in the world:

Chris Robshaw takes the other flanker spot as his Harlequins side closed the gap to second place with a comfortable 36-26 win over Bristol Bears.

Teammate and prop Joe Marler joins Robshaw in the XV, while try-scorers Rob Webber and Greg Holmes complete the front-row after they crossed the line for Sale Sharks and Exeter Chiefs respectively.

Explosive scrum-half Faf de Klerk also gets the nod after he inspired Sharks to a 24-18 win over Wasps with a penalty and two successful conversions, joining teammate and fellow South African Rohan Janse van Rensburg.

Meanwhile, try-scorers Marcus Smith and Mike Brown – who was nominated for ‘try of the week’ – became the third and fourth Quins players to join Flats’ XV.

Rory Hutchinson’s crucial try ensures his inclusion as his Northampton Saints side squeezed past Bath 27-26.

Flatman’s chosen wingers are Gloucester’s Ollie Thorley, whose tenacious running wore down Saracens, and Zach Kibirige of Newcastle Falcons, who scored a double in the 17-35 loss at Exeter.

15 – Mike Brown (Harlequins)
14 – Zach Kibirige (Newcastle Falcons)
13 – Rory Hutchinson (Northampton Saints)
12 – Rohan Janse van Rensburg (Sale Sharks)
11 – Ollie Thorley (Gloucester)
10 – Marcus Smith (Harlequins)
9 – Faf de Klerk (Sale Sharks)

1 – Joe Marler (Harlequins)
2 – Rob Webber (Sale Sharks)
3 – Greg Holmes (Exeter Chiefs)
4 – Ed Slater (Gloucester)
5 – Franco Mostert (Gloucester)
6 – Chris Robshaw (Harlequins)
7 – Jaco Kriel (Gloucester)
8 – Ben Morgan (Gloucester)

To get all the latest news from Premiership Rugby sign up to our Newsletter

Sign up to our newsletter

Keep up-to-date with all the latest Premiership Rugby news, ticketing news, information, offers and exclusive competitions