TOP BAR - Fixtures

Bristol Bears make three change for Warriors

Bristol Bears make three change for Warriors

* Three changes for Sixways clash

* Nine internationals in starting line-up

* Dan Thomas included in 23-man squad for first time

* Siale Piutau and Steve Luatua to co-captain side

Zane Kirchner is set for his first start when Bristol Bears travel to Worcester Warriors on Sunday (3pm KO).

The South African international starts at full back in place of Piers O’Conor (foot) who is unavailable.

Pat Lam makes three changes for the Sixways clash as Ian Madigan returns to the line-up, while Joe Joyce comes into the second row in the only change to the pack.

Siale Piutau and Steve Luatua are named as co-captains for the final Gallagher Premiership encounter before the five week break for European Challenge Cup and Premiership Cup competitions.

Lam said: “There will be a big following of supporters from Bristol and we want to deliver a performance for them. For us, it’s about the five points on offer and what we can achieve if we execute well.

“There’s a huge challenge and we know what a talented side Worcester Warriors are. We need to be on the money and that’s why the week’s preparations have been so important.”

Sam Jeffries and Dan Thomas are listed among the replacements and could make their first Premiership outings of the campaign.

Bristol Bears team to face Worcester Warriors at Sixways on Sunday, October 7th (3pm KO):

15. Zane Kirchner; 14. Luke Morahan, 13. Will Hurrell, 12. Siale Piutau (co-capt), 11. Alapati Leiua; 10. Ian Madigan, 9. Andy Uren; 1. Yann Thomas, 2. Harry Thacker, 3. John Afoa, 4. Ed Holmes, 5. Joe Joyce, 6. Steve Luatua (co-capt), 7. George Smith, 8. Jack Lam.

Replacements: 16. Nick Fenton-Wells, 17. Jake Woolmore, 18. Jake Armstrong, 19. Sam Jeffries, 20. Dan Thomas, 21. Nic Stirzaker, 22. Callum Sheedy, 23. Ryan Edwards.

Unavailable: Sione Faletau (calf), Lewis Thiede (knee), Aly Muldowney (neck), Chris Vui (groin), John Hawkins (thumb), Jordan Crane (hamstring), Tiff Eden (shoulder), Jack Tovey (knee), Mat Protheroe (knee), Charles Piutau (shoulder), Luke Daniels (hamstring), Piers O’Conor (foot), Aaron Chapman (hamstring).

To get all the latest news from Premiership Rugby sign up to our Newsletter