TOP BAR - Fixtures

Newcastle Falcons name team to face Enisei-STM

Newcastle Falcons name team to face Enisei-STM

Simon Uzokwe makes his European Challenge Cup debut for Newcastle Falcons on Sunday when they host Russian champions Enisei-STM at Kingston Park Stadium (kick-off 3pm).

The England Students flanker, who this week signed a contract extension with the club, scored two tries on his first team debut earlier this season in the Anglo-Welsh Cup victory at Wasps.

He forms part of a back-row trio alongside skipper Mark Wilson and No 8 Ryan Burrows, club captain Will Welch missing out after sustaining a head knock during last weekend’s Aviva Premiership victory over champions Exeter Chiefs.

Newcastle are currently top of European Challenge Cup Pool One after winning all four of their games, with the five pool winners and best three runners-up qualifying for the quarter-finals.

Toby Flood moves to inside centre on Sunday as Joel Hodgson occupies the fly-half berth, Michael Young continuing at scrum-half after impressing against the Premiership leaders last time out.

Adam Radwan, who this week agreed terms for next season, starts on the left wing after scoring seven tries in six games, while Zach Kibirige is handed the No 14 shirt following his try at the Dragons in round four.

Sam Lockwood earns a start at loose-head prop as Newcastle field the same front row which started in the victory at the Dragons on December 15, Glen Young partnering Calum Green in the second row.

Rob Vickers will make his 250th competitive appearance for the Falcons should he come on from the bench, while fellow prop Jack Payne is in line for his senior debut after being named among the replacements.

Season ticket members are reminded that Sunday’s game is already included in their 2017-18 package. Non-season ticket members can buy tickets by calling 0871 226 6060.

Newcastle Falcons team to face Enisei-STM (Sunday, 3pm, Kingston Park Stadium):

15 Simon Hammersley

14 Zach Kibirige

13 Tom Penny

12 Toby Flood

11 Adam Radwan

10 Joel Hodgson

9 Michael Young

1 Sam Lockwood

2 Ben Sowrey

3 Scott Wilson

4 Calum Green

5 Glen Young

6 Mark Wilson (captain)

7 Simon Uzokwe

8 Ryan Burrows


16 Jamie Blamire

17 Trevor Davison

18 Jack Payne

19 Rob Vickers

20 Will Witty

21 Sam Stuart

22 Charlie Wilson

23 Craig Willis


Referee: Pierre Brousset (France)

To get all the latest news from Premiership Rugby sign up to our Newsletter