TOP BAR - Fixtures

Leicester Tigers name team to face Wasps

Leicester Tigers name team to face Wasps

Matt Smith will lead out Leicester Tigers against Wasps in Coventry on Sunday (1.00pm) in the fourth round of the Anglo-Welsh Cup.

Tigers are the holders of the Anglo-Welsh Cup and go into the weekend level on points with pool leaders Newcastle Falcons who face Gloucester at home on Saturday afternoon.

The starting line-up includes seven players with links to the Tigers academy, ranging from skipper Smith, who now has 215 first-team appearances to his name, to debutant Cameron Jordan. There are three more academy prospects among the replacements plus graduate Jimmy Stevens who has played at London Irish and Nottingham since making his Leicester debut in the 2011/12 season.

Luke Hamilton, who has been with the Scotland squad this week, joins Smith in providing the experience in the line-up alongside Tom Brady, Jonah Holmes and Italy international prop Michele Rizzo.

Tigers also include Declan Cusack and New Zealand-born back-rower Adam Batt on loan from Doncaster Knights and there is a place among the replacements for Oxford University student Charlie Pozniak.

“There were some young players who put in strong performances against Cardiff Blues last week and winning the game was great,” said Tigers coach Geordan Murphy.

“The defence was really sharp at times, the boys wanted to be in there and imposing themselves physically, and that was great to see.

“We’ve got a lot of players away, with six in the under-20s and four with England at the Six Nations, and there are a few injuries, but there are opportunities for young players to go out and play. We’ve always tried to develop and build players in this competition and these guys have an opportunity to go out and represent us this weekend.”

Sunday’s match is scheduled for live broadcast by BT Sport.

Leicester Tigers (v Wasps, away, Sunday 1.00pm)

15 Declan Cusack
14 Tom Brady
13 Matt Smith (c)
12 Charlie Thacker
11 Jonah Holmes
10 George Worth
9 Harry Simmons

1 Michele Rizzo
2 Jake Kerr
3 Chris Baumann
4 Cameron Jordan
5 Joe Maksymiw
6 Luke Hamilton
7 Adam Batt
8 Fred Tuilagi


16 Jimmy Stevens
17 Facundo Gigena
18 Ben Betts
19 Charlie Pozniak
20 Henri Lavin
21 Will Yarnell
22 Sam Wager
23 Mathew Tait

To get all the latest news from Premiership Rugby sign up to our Newsletter

Sign up to our newsletter

Keep up-to-date with all the latest Premiership Rugby news, ticketing news, information, offers and exclusive competitions