TOP BAR - Fixtures

Leicester Tigers name team for Anglo-Welsh Cup return

Leicester Tigers name team for Anglo-Welsh Cup return

Leicester Tigers will hand a debut to Argentina international prop Facundo Gigena in Saturday’s Anglo-Welsh Cup tie with Cardiff Blues at Welford Road (3.00pm).

Gigena, who arrived in Leicester earlier this month after agreeing a contract with the club, joins former Scotland Under-20s hooker Jake Kerr and South Africa international prop Pat Cilliers in the front row of the Tigers pack.

Among the other changes in the team, there are places for Luke Hamilton and Will Evans in the back row. Tom Brady makes his first Welford Road appearance of the season after his return from injury and Jonah Holmes, who has five tries in four appearances so far this season, is on the opposite wing.

Gareth Owen retains his place in midfield after starting last Sunday’s European Champions Cup match against Racing 92.

Coach Geordan Murphy, who leads the team this week, said: “We’ve made changes this week after a tough run but it is exciting for these guys to get their opportunities.

“You look back at games in this competition in the last few years and see guys coming through and pushing on for first-team starts. Harry Wells, for example, did brilliantly for us in the Anglo-Welsh last year and in the last two weeks he has started in European Cup games and more than held his own. You want players to train well, play well and put up their hand for a place in the squad.”

Tickets for Saturday’s game are available now. Book in person at the Tigers ticket office, phone 0116 319 8888 or online at This match is included in Tigers season tickets.

Leicester Tigers (v Cardiff Blues, Welford Road, Saturday 3.00pm)

15 George Worth
14 Tom Brady
13 Gareth Owen
12 Charlie Thacker
11 Jonah Holmes
10 Joe Ford
9 Sam Harrison (c)

1 Facundo Gigena
2 Jake Kerr
3 Pat Cilliers
4 Joe Maksymiw
5 Harry Wells
6 Luke Hamilton
7 Will Evans
8 Fred Tuilagi

16 Tatafu Polota-Nau
17 Kyle Traynor
18 Chris Baumann
19 Sam Lewis
20 Valentino Mapapalangi
21 Harry Simmons
22 Tom Hardwick
23 Jordan Olowofela

To get all the latest news from Premiership Rugby sign up to our Newsletter

Sign up to our newsletter

Keep up-to-date with all the latest Premiership Rugby news, ticketing news, information, offers and exclusive competitions