TOP BAR - Fixtures

Flats selects his XV from Round 4 of the Anglo-Welsh Cup

Flats selects his XV from Round 4 of the Anglo-Welsh Cup

Franklin’s Gardens can be an inspirational place to play rugby, especially under the Friday night lights, and Northampton Saints certainly came to the fore against Harlequins.

Their 36-10 victory not only booked them an Anglo-Welsh Cup semi-final but it also caught the eye of David Flatman, who selects an incredible six Saints players in his Flats’ XV.

The headline pick is without doubt George North, who returned to the Saints side with a try.

It took the Welshman, who pulled out of their clash with Sale Sharks a week earlier, just seven minutes to turn on the afterburners and leave the Harlequins defence for dead.

It was part of an encouraging all-round display from North, who made 92 metres with ball-in-hand and beat seven defenders and has been recalled by Wales this weekend following the display’.

He was not the only Saints winger with dancing feet as Ken Pisi crossed twice in the one-sided win, and they are joined in the back three by Wasps ace Rob Miller – who also scored two tries in their 50-28 win against Leicester Tigers.

Saints’ Tom Stephenson makes it in at outside centre, partnered by another two-try hero in Ollie Devoto.

The Exeter Chiefs and England star has struggled with injury for much of the campaign but he looks refreshed and ready to roll in the second-half of the campaign.

Devoto, who crossed twice in Exeter’s 43-20 win against Saracens, was mightily in attack but also excellent in defence – making all ten tackles he attempted.

Wasps have four players selected in Flats’ XV, with half-backs Craig Hampson and Jacob Umaga getting the nod.

Jack Willis is the fourth member of Dai Young’s squad to be picked and he is in at No.8, with Saints’ Jamie Gibson and London Irish’s Ofisa Treviranus.

Up front, Harlequins’ Mark Lambert joins Saints’ Mike Haywood and Exeter’s Greg Holmes.

Api Ratuniyarawa is the sixth Northampton player named and he joins Bath Rugby’s Charlie Ewels in the second row.

15. Rob Miller (Wasps)
14. Ken Pisi (Northampton Saints)
13. Tom Stephenson (Northampton Saints)
12. Ollie Devoto (Exeter Chiefs)
11. George North (Northampton Saints)
10. Jacob Umaga (Wasps)
9. Craig Hampson (Wasps)

1. Mark Lambert (Harlequins)
2. Mike Haywood (Northampton Saints)
3. Greg Holmes (Exeter Chiefs)
4. Api Ratuniyarawa (Northampton Saints)
5. Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby)
6. Ofisa Treviranus (London Irish)
7. Jamie Gibson (Northampton Saints)
8. Jack Willis (Wasps)

This year’s Anglo-Welsh Cup Final will be at the iconic Kingsholm Stadium, home of Gloucester Rugby, on Sunday 18 March. To buy tickets and be part of an unforgettable occasion click here

To get all the latest news from Premiership Rugby sign up to our Newsletter

For more news, try out 2017-2018 Anglo Welsh News News

Sign up to our newsletter

Keep up-to-date with all the latest Premiership Rugby news, ticketing news, information, offers and exclusive competitions