Jump to main content
Premiership Rugby

Springbok Snyman makes full Tykes debut

A Gallagher Premiership Rugby ball

Rob Rawlinson is ruled out with a shoulder injury, so Matt Holt moves from prop to hooker, with Gary Powell coming into the starting line-up at prop.

Phil Murphy replaces Stuart Hooper in the second row and Alix Popham and Aaron Persico come into the back row for James Ponton and Matt Salter.

In the backs, ex-South African international André Snyman will make his full debut in the centres alongside Tristan Davies.

England hooker Mark Regan is amongst the replacements following his return from the World Cup.

"We were all disappointed with the performance last week at Northampton and we know that collectively we must improve this week, said Davies.

"We have had a good week this week and the squad is now beginning to get back to full strength.

"Alix Popham and Aaron Persico will start in the back row together for the first time which will be a boost for us.

"We now have competition for places in every position in the team – the World Cup players are now al back and have really pushed their claims for a regular place. There are some tough decisions to be made but that keeps the whole team at the top of their game.

"Mark Regan rejoined us this week after winning the World Cup and we were delighted to see him back in Leeds. 

"Although he was not part of the Final team, he – along with the rest of the England team – has sacrificed so much over the years to be in Sydney and we are immensely proud that he was representing the Tykes in Australia.

"Quins are an extremely tough side to break down, especially at home, and I'm sure there will be a great atmosphere there with Jason Leonard and Will Greenwood returning home as well.

"They have an extremely talented back row who can dictate a game if you give them the opportunity."

Leeds Tykes: 15 Dan Scarbrough, 14 David Rees, 13 André Snyman, 12 Tristan Davies, 11 Diego Albanese, 10 Gordon Ross, 9 Clive Stuart Smith, 8 Alix Popham, 7 Dan Hyde, 6 Aaron Persico, 5 Scott Morgan, 4 Phil Murphy, 3 Gary Powell, 2 Matt Holt, 1 Mike Shelley (captain).Replacements: 16 Michael Cusack, 17 Mark Regan, 18 Stuart Hooper, 19 James Ponton, 20 Ryan Walker, 21 Phil Christophers.

Kick-off: 15.00 GMT


Next Story

Ibanez retires from international rugby

Previous Story

Jonny given two weeks off

Choose your club

Bath Rugby
Bristol Bears
Exeter Chiefs
Gloucester Rugby
Leicester Tigers
London Irish
Newcastle Falcons
Northampton Saints
Sale Sharks
Worcester Warriors
No Club