Jump to main content
Premiership Rugby

Hill to start for Saracens

A Gallagher Premiership Rugby ball

In the backline, Richard Haughton switches from right-wing to fullback, while Denis Chech fills the vacant No.14 shirt to get his first full start for the side. Former French centre Thomas Castaignède also makes a welcome return from injury to replace Fiji No.10 Nicky Little, with the latter dropping to the bench.

Up front, Hill comes in at No.6, moving Tony Roques to the other flank, while Ben Russell drops to the bench. Alex Codling makes a return from injury to displace Kris Chesney in the second row.

In the front row, Visagie starts at tighthead at the expense of Ben Broster, while Scotland international Robbie Russell moves in at hooker in place of Johnny Marsters.

England scrum-half Kyran Bracken has also been fast-tracked back into the squad since returning from the RWC in Australia, although he will start off the bench on Sunday.

Coach Rod Kafer is happy to have such talent at his disposal after a dismal start to the Premiership, but he is looking for a marked improvement after last weekend's loss to Sale Sharks.

"We were disappointed with our performance last week and we need to address that on Sunday as we have done this week during training," said Kafer.

"It's obviously very pleasing to include Richard [Hill] and Kyran [Bracken] in the side for Sunday and they will bring confidence and stability to the side, as will Cobus [Visagie] up front."

Saracens: 15 Richard Haughton, 14 Denis Chech, 13 Ben Johnston, 12 Paul Bailey, 11 Darragh O'Mahony, 10 Thomas Castaignède, 9 Morgan Williams, 8 Taine Randell, 7 Tony Roques, 6 Richard Hill, 5 Alex Codling, 4 Simon Raiwalui (captain), 3 Cobus Visagie, 2 Robbie Russell, 1 Emiliano Bergemaschi.Replacements: 16 Johnny Marsters, 17 Steven Sparks, 18 Kris Chesney, 19 Ben Russell, 20 Kyran Bracken, 21 Nicky Little, 22 Adryan Winnan.

Kick-off: 15.00


Next Story

Ibanez retires from international rugby

Previous Story

Jonny given two weeks off

Choose your club

Bath Rugby
Bristol Bears
Exeter Chiefs
Gloucester Rugby
Leicester Tigers
London Irish
Newcastle Falcons
Northampton Saints
Sale Sharks
Worcester Warriors
No Club