Jump to main content
Premiership Rugby

Tykes remain the same for Tigers

A Gallagher Premiership Rugby ball

That means that summer signing Gary Powell retains the loosehead position and keeps captain Mike Shelley out of the starting line-up after the Leeds stalwart returned this week after five weeks on the sidelines with a broken thumb.

Shelley is joined on the bench by Scottish international Stewart Campbell, who has recovered from a knee injury, and Tristan Davies, who returns following a shoulder injury.

With Shelley on the bench, No.8 Dan Hyde will continue to captain the side.

Dan Scarbrough will be looking to continue his good form against Leicester this week. The England man has scored on all three occasions he has played against Leicester, including two tries in last seasons win over the Tigers at Headingley.

"I know we are in for a tough examination this week, Dean Richards will certainly have his team fired up to face us and we must make sure that we put the right level of performance in to match their intensity," said Tykes coach Phil Davies.

"Thankfully we now seem to be getting over some of the long-term injury problems we had at the start of the season.

"I am delighted to have our captain Mike Shelley back available for selection and likewise Stewart Campbell and Tristan Davies who both return to the squad.

"Leicester have lost their last two games but that only means that they will come to Headingley in even more fearsome mood than ever.

"They have been badly hit by the World Cup, but Dean Richards has been planning for this for a number of years now and the ability of the Tigers youngsters to handle Premiership rugby has to be admired.

"I have never hidden my admiration for what Leicester has achieved in the professional era and they remain a role model for any club looking to develop a sustainable long term future and to be able to challenge for honours."

Leeds Tykes: 15 Tim Walsh, 14 Dan Scarbrough, 13 Phil Christophers, 12 Liam Botham, 11 David Rees, 10 Duncan Hodge, 9 Ryan Walker, 8 Dan Hyde (captain), 7 James Ponton, 6 Matt Salter, 5 Stuart Hooper, 4 Scott Morgan, 3 Simon Halford, 2 Rob Rawlinson, 1 Gary Powell.Replacements: 16 Mike Shelley, 17 Matt Holt, 18 Phil Murphy, 19 Stewart Campbell, 20 Alan Dickens, 21 Tristan Davies, 22 Matt Cardey.

Kick-off: 14.30 BST (13.30 GMT)


Next Story

England ‘relief’ at pool victory

Previous Story

Clive Woodward update – Late injury withdrawals

Choose your club

Bath Rugby
Bristol Bears
Exeter Chiefs
Gloucester Rugby
Leicester Tigers
London Irish
Newcastle Falcons
Northampton Saints
Sale Sharks
Worcester Warriors
No Club