Jump to main content
Premiership Rugby

Falcons remain unchanged for Quins

A Gallagher Premiership Rugby ball

The club has decided against fielding flanker Epi Taione and fly-half Dave Walder even though they are reported to have recovered form their injury.

"I made a conscious decision at the start of the season not to push any players who've been injured and in rehab," explained Andrew.

"If you remember I also said that players have to earn their right to play in this team this season and – the way the team have played in the last two games – they'll take some shifting.

"We have a second team match against Rotherham on Monday evening and Epi and Dave will probably feature in that match."

The Falcons have had some close games against Harlequins over the last couple of seasons where they have struggled to impose themselves, but coach Andrew is hopeful that the will change come on Saturday.

"Harlequins have made a good solid start this year with three wins out of four," continued Andrew.

"They have Paul Burke and Ugo Monye who has a lot of pace, but we've got guys with a lot of pace too and we're not worried about that.

"However, if you give them a driving game then you're going to get squeezed but we have the ability not to let that happen on the back of the last couple of games and, on the basis of that, we are confident.

"I'm delighted we're in the top four and there no point in looking back at the previous games against Saracens and Leicester, we have to focus ahead.

"If we play as we did for 65 minutes against Leicester and about the same or more against Gloucester then we'll have a lot to celebrate."

Former All Black centre Mark Mayerhofler said: "I'm very much looking forward to the match. We can certainly match their pace and our defence, as a whole side should shut down their key runners.

"We made good progress last Sunday and hopefully we can top up this weekend."

Newcastle Falcons: 15 Ben Gollings, 14 Tom May, 13 Jamie Noon, 12 Mark Mayerhofler, 11 Michael Stephenson, 10 Phil Godman, 9 Hall Charlton, 8 Hugh Vyvyan, 7 Warren Britz, 6 Jon Dunbar, 5 Mark Andrews (captain), 4 Garath Archer, 3 Marius Hurter, 2 Nick Makin, 1 Ian Peel.Replacements: 16 Micky Ward, 17 Dave Wilson, 18 Matt Thompson, 19 Craig Hamilton, 20 Phil Dowson, 21 James Grindal, 22 Joe Shaw.

Kick-off: 15.00 BST (14.00 GMT)


Next Story

Balshaw out of England opener

Previous Story

Hatley back for Exiles action

Choose your club

Bath Rugby
Bristol Bears
Exeter Chiefs
Gloucester Rugby
Leicester Tigers
London Irish
Newcastle Falcons
Northampton Saints
Sale Sharks
Worcester Warriors
No Club