Jump to main content
Premiership Rugby

No changes for Newcastle

A Gallagher Premiership Rugby ball

Scottish fly-half Phil Godman retains his place in the absence of injured England man Dave Walder.

Flanker Jon Dunbar also retains his berth at the expense of former Tongan international Epi Taione, who is also injured.

The only change comes on the bench were Mark Wilkinson makes room for Joe Shaw.

Former Springbok lock Mark Andrews will once again lead the Falcons into battle from the second row.

"It's a bonus to be able to name the same team each week," said coach Andrew.

"A team consists of the same group of people playing together and in an ideal world this is what we aim to do each week, obviously, though this is often impossible with the number of injuries sustained when playing Premiership rugby.

"We've seen a greater level of physicality particularly around the contact area. Everyone's now competing for the ball. In yesteryear it was the number 7 doing it but now all 15 players are competing for the ball.

"You have to try to dominate physically in order to completely dominate the game. Obviously, we also want to play entertaining rugby and the Falcons are working hard to do that."

Newcastle Falcons: 15 Ben Gollings, 14 Tom May, 13 Jamie Noon, 12 Mark Mayerhofler, 11 Michael Stephenson, 10 Phil Godman, 9 Hall Charlton, 8 Hugh Vyvyan, 7 Warren Britz, 6 Jon Dunbar, 5 Mark Andrews (captain), 4 Garath Archer, 3 Marius Hurter, 2 Nick Makin, 1 Ian Peel.Replacements: 16 Micky Ward, 17 Matt Thompson, 18 Dave Wilson, 19 Craig Hamilton, 20 Phil Dowson, 21 James Grinal, 22 Joe Shaw.

Kick-off: 15.00 BST (14.00 GMT)


Next Story

Birkett makes Wasps return

Previous Story

Cash boost for Tykes and Titans

Choose your club

Bath Rugby
Bristol Bears
Exeter Chiefs
Gloucester Rugby
Leicester Tigers
London Irish
Newcastle Falcons
Northampton Saints
Sale Sharks
Worcester Warriors
No Club