Jump to main content
Premiership Rugby

Zurich award short-lists announced

A Gallagher Premiership Rugby ball

The pair will do battle with Phil Davies of the Leeds Tykes for the Zurich Director of Rugby award.

Jake Boer, who won the Zurich Premiership Player of the Season award in May, is again in contention for honours; this time tussling with New Zealanders Andrew Blowers of the Northampton Saints and Wasps' Craig Dowd for the Zurich Overseas Player of the Season award.

The winner of each award category will be selected from a short-list by a panel of judges that includes David Hands of the Times, Paul Ackford of the Sunday Telegraph and Miles Harrison of Sky Sports.

The awards will be presented during England's Rugby World Cup gala dinner send-off at Twickenham on September 17.

The nominations are:

Zurich Director of Rugby of the Season 2002/03Phil Davies (Leeds Tykes)Warren Gatland (London Wasps)Nigel Melville (Gloucester)

Zurich Young Player of the Season 2002/03 James Forrester (Gloucester)Marcel Garvey (Gloucester)Chris Jones (Sale Sharks)

Zurich Overseas Player of the Season 2002/03Andrew Blowers (Northampton Saints)Jake Boer (Gloucester)Craig Dowd (London Wasps)

Zurich England Rugby Unsung Hero of the Season 2002/03Chris Derward-Ackhurst (Saracens)Eric Fields (Staffordshire)Vernon Neve-Dunn (Southwark Tigers)

The Zurich Outstanding Contribution to Rugby AwardThis is the main award and recognises the feats of an individual who through their conduct, talent and dedication has inspired both fans and fellow players alike and provided the game of rugby with a lasting legacy.


Next Story

McRae banned for touch judge outburst

Previous Story

Tykes skipper suffers set-back

Choose your club

Bath Rugby
Bristol Bears
Exeter Chiefs
Gloucester Rugby
Leicester Tigers
London Irish
Newcastle Falcons
Northampton Saints
Sale Sharks
Worcester Warriors
No Club