Jump to main content
Premiership Rugby

Newcastle Falcons name team

A Gallagher Premiership Rugby ball

With Johnny Wilkinson on World Cup duty, fellow fly-half Walder will finally get the chance to prove himself in the No.10 jersey.

But with Rob Andrew significantly strengthening his squad towards the end of last season Wilkinson won't be missed too badly.

Former Springbok Mark Andrews will give the Falcons a hard-nosed edge and the new captain's grisly second row partnership with Garath Archer is to be particularly feared.

James Grindal is also fit to make the starting XV after making a complete recovery from a thumb injury.

Newcastle Falcons: 15 Joe Shaw, 14 Michael Stephenson, 13 Jamie Noon, 12 Tom May, 11 Ben Gollings, 10 Dave Walder, 9 James Grindal, 8 Hugh Vyvyan 7 Warren Britz, 6 Epi Taione, 5 Mark Andrews (captain), 4 Garath Archer, 3 Marius Hurter, 2 Nick Makin, 1 Micky Ward.Replacements: 16 Phil Godman, 17 Hall Charlton, 18 Dave Wilson, 19 Will Kay, 20 Ian Peel, 21 Craig Hamilton, 22 Phil Dowson.

Kick-off: 14.30 (13.30 GMT)


Next Story

Tykes skipper suffers set-back

Previous Story

London Irish name team

Choose your club

Bath Rugby
Bristol Bears
Exeter Chiefs
Gloucester Rugby
Leicester Tigers
London Irish
Newcastle Falcons
Northampton Saints
Sale Sharks
Worcester Warriors
No Club