Jump to main content
Premiership Rugby

Ulster bow to five-try Exiles

A Gallagher Premiership Rugby ball

O'Shea's side notched their second win of their Irish tour following last Tuesday's 19-18 win over Connacht at the newly developed Galway Sportsgrounds.

However it was Alan Solomons' home side who made the better start and they were 14-0 up after the same number of minutes. Ronan McCormack sauntered over for a debut try and soon after a Bryn Cunningham run resulted in a try for skipper Andy Ward, with both efforts converted by Paddy Wallace.

Two penalties from Mark Mapletoft got the Exiles on the scoreboard before Cannon charged down a Wallace clearance to slide over on 30 minutes.

Decisively on the whistle of half time, Mapletoft's cross-field kick was fielded by wing Justin Bishop, who fed the onrushing Michael Horak for the try of the night and a 20-14 lead.

Ulster out-half Wallace converted his own effort on 43 minutes before Mapletoft landed his third penalty eleven minutes later. Crucially for the home side, hooker Matt Sexton was yellow carded soon after and tries from wing Devon Armitage and international lock Bob Casey put the victory beyond doubt.

The scorers:

For Ulster:Tries: McCormack, Ward, Wallace, Young.Cons: Wallace 3

For London Irish:Tries: Cannon, Horak, Armitage, CaseyCons: Mapletoft 2Pens: Mapletoft 3

The teams:

Ulster: 15 Bryn Cunningham, 14 Tyrone Howe, 13 Seamus Mallon, 12 Shane Stewart, 11 Andrew Maxwell, 10 Paddy Wallace, 9 Kieran Campbell, 8 Neil Best, 7 Roger Wilson, 6 Andy Ward (captain), 5 Rowan Frost, 4 Matt Mustchin, 3 Simon Best, 2 Matt Sexton, 1 Ronan McCormack.     Replacements: Bryan Young for McCormack (54), Matt McCullough for Mustchin (58), Neil Doak for Campbell (40), Tommy Bowe for Maxwell (74), Scott Young for Stewart (74).

London Irish: 15 Michael Horak, 14 Justin Bishop, 13 Matt Cannon, 12 Nils Mordt, 11 Devon Armitage, 10 Mark Mapletoft, 9 Darren Edwards, 8 Chris Sheasby, 7 Michael Haslett, 6 Declan Danaher, 5 Nick Kennedy, 4 Kieran Roche, 3 Rob Hardwick, 2 Naka Drotske, 1 Neal Hatley (captain).    Replacements: Adrian Flavin for Hardwick (69), Doug Wheatley, Pierre Durant for Drotske (69), Bob Casey for Kennedy (62), Phil Murphy for Danaher (36), Kevin Barrett, Barry Everitt, Ed Thrower for Bishop (48).

By David Mervyn


Next Story

Woodward starts to whittle down his squad

Previous Story

France tough it out and claim English scalp

Choose your club

Bath Rugby
Bristol Bears
Exeter Chiefs
Gloucester Rugby
Leicester Tigers
London Irish
Newcastle Falcons
Northampton Saints
Sale Sharks
Worcester Warriors
No Club