Jump to main content
Premiership Rugby

Woodward names World Cup warm-up squad

A Gallagher Premiership Rugby ball

The versatile 29-year-old – who has appeared for England at No.9, fly-half, wing and fullback – has had a torrid time with injury in recent months and made his last appearance for England against South Africa at the end of 2002.

But, this latest selection gives him a chance to prove his worth ahead of England's RWC 2003 campaign, which kicks off in Perth, Australia on October 12 with a clash against Georgia.

The squad, which will be cut to a final 30 on September 8, contains the 30 players involved in the recent tour of New Zealand and Australia, plus 13 other players, some of whom were involved in England's Churchill Cup campaign.

"The squad is based on the fact that everyone is fit to play in the three World Cup preparation games," said England head coach Clive Woodward.

"There are still a couple of players who have an outside chance of making the squad and I will be monitoring them through their clubs."

England squad:

Forwards: Neil Back (Leicester), Ian Borthwick (Bath), Martin Corry (Leicester), Lawrence Dallaglio (Wasps), Will Green (Wasps), Danny Grewcock (Bath), Andy Hazell (Gloucester), Richard Hill (Saracens), Martin Johnson (Leicester), Ben Kay (Leicester), Jason Leonard (Harlequins), Lewis Moody (Leicester), Mark Regan (Leeds), Graham Rowntree (Leicester), Alex Sanderson (Sale), Simon Shaw (Wasps), Andy Titterell (Sale), Steve Thompson (Northampton), Phil Vickery (Gloucester), Dorian West (Leicester), Julian White (Leicester), Trevor Woodman (Gloucs), Joe Worsley (Wasps).

Backs: Stuart Abbott (Wasps), Iain Balshaw (Bath), Kyran Bracken (Saracens), Ben Cohen (Northampton), Matt Dawson (Northampton), Will Greenwood (Harlequins), Alex King (Wasps), Andy Gomarsall (Gloucester), Paul Grayson (Northampton), Austin Healey (Leicester), Josh Lewsey (Wasps), Dan Luger (Perpignan), Jamie Noon (Newcastle), Jason Robinson (Sale), Dan Scarbrough (Leeds), James Simpson-Daniel (Gloucester), Ollie Smith (Leicester), Mike Tindall (Bath), Dave Walder (Newcastle), Jonny Wilkinson (Newcastle).


Next Story

Live Sky matches confirmed

Previous Story

Injury rules Palmer out of RWC contention

Choose your club

Bath Rugby
Bristol Bears
Exeter Chiefs
Gloucester Rugby
Leicester Tigers
London Irish
Newcastle Falcons
Northampton Saints
Sale Sharks
Worcester Warriors
No Club