Jump to main content
Premiership Rugby

Initial England squad announced for RWC 2003

A Gallagher Premiership Rugby ball

Clive Woodward said, "I've announced an initial 43 man squad, which will be cut to a final 30 on September 8th, ahead of the Rugby World Cup and after three tough and challenging games against Wales (August 23rd, Millenium Stadium, Cardiff) and France (Marseille, August 30th and Twickenham September 6th).

"The squad is made up of the 30 players who prepared for the summer test matches in New Zealand and Australia, with the remaining places filled by those involved in the Churchill Cup and a number of players who weren't eligible for the two tours through injury and suspension.

"I'd like to congratulate everyone involved in the Churchill Cup and Japan tour, especially the coaches Jim Mallinder and Steve Diamond who made a huge contribution to the tour and gave me important feedback for the selection of the squad.

"A total of 36 players will begin training on July 21st, with the final seven who were involved in the Churchill Cup and Japan tour joining the rest of the squad on July 28th.

"This squad of players is based on the fact that everyone is fit to play in the three World Cup preparation games. There are still a couple of players who have an outside chance of making the squad on September 8th and I will be monitoring them through their clubs. This, however, will be subject to me seeing them play or being happy with their medical reports prior to that date.

"The list of reserves will be called upon if one of the players from the squad is injured. In total, there are 50 names that are being submitted to RWC Ltd for accreditation purposes."

Stuart Abbott London Wasps
Iain Balshaw Bath
Kyran Bracken Saracens
Ben Cohen Northampton Saints
Matt Dawson Northampton Saints
Will Greenwood NEC Harlequins
Alex King London Wasps
Andy Gomarsall Gloucester
Paul Grayson Northampton Saints
Austin Healey Leicester Tigers
Josh Lewsey London Wasps
Dan Luger Perpignan
Jamie Noon Newcastle Falcons
Jason Robinson Sale Sharks
Dan Scarbrough Leeds Tykes
James Simpson-Daniel Gloucester
Ollie Smith Leicester Tigers
Mike Tindall Bath
Dave Walder Newcastle Falcons
Jonny Wilkinson Newcastle Falcons
Neil Back Leicester Tigers
Steve Borthwick Bath
Martin Corry Leicester Tigers
Lawrence Dallaglio London Wasps
Will Green London Wasps
Danny Grewcock Bath
Andy Hazell Gloucester
Richard Hill Saracens
Martin Johnson Leicester Tigers (CAPTAIN)
Ben Kay Leicester Tigers
Jason Leonard NEC Harlequins
Lewis Moody Leicester Tigers
Mark Regan Leeds Tykes
Graham Rowntree Leicester Tigers
Alex Sanderson Sale Sharks
Simon Shaw London Wasps
Andy Titterell Sale Sharks
Steve Thompson Northampton Saints
Phil Vickery Gloucester
Dorian West Leicester Tigers
Julian White Leicester Tigers
Trevor Woodman Gloucester
Joe Worsley London Wasps
Not invited to training but on RWC accredited list of 50 players
Alex Brown Gloucester
Phil Christophers Leeds Tykes
Jamie Forrester Gloucester
Phil Greening London Wasps
Ben Johnston Saracens
Martyn Wood London Wasps
Mike Worsley NEC Harlequins

Next Story

Live Sky matches confirmed

Previous Story

Injury rules Palmer out of RWC contention

Choose your club

Bath Rugby
Bristol Bears
Exeter Chiefs
Gloucester Rugby
Leicester Tigers
London Irish
Newcastle Falcons
Northampton Saints
Sale Sharks
Worcester Warriors
No Club