Jump to main content
Premiership Rugby

England pick new props for Wallaby Test

A Gallagher Premiership Rugby ball

Veteran Jason Leonard moves down to the bench, while Graham Rowntree drops out of the match-day 22 altogether, with Woodward making just two changes to the starting line-up that served him so well at the 'Cake Tin' in Wellington.

Vickery and Woodman, both of whom battled injuries during the RBS Six Nations, starred for England's midweek side during their 23-9 win over the New Zealand Maori just over a week ago, but Woodward kept faith with Rowntree and Leonard, the duo that finished the Six Nations in jerseys No.1 and No.3 respectively.

But Vickery made a huge impact off the bench during England's historical 15-13 win over the All Blacks at the weekend, scrumming strongly and carrying the ball with ease after replacing Leonard just after half-time, making it difficult for Woodward to ignore him this time around.

Harlequins' Leonard, the most-capped front row forward of all-time, at least has the consolation of being on the bench, but Leicester's Rowntree will watch Saturday's clash at the Telstra Dome from the stands.

Woodward's England XV is otherwise unchanged, but he has made two changes to his bench, with a fit-again Matt Dawson replacing Gloucester star Andy Gomarsall, while London Wasps fly-half Alex King replaces Dawson's Northampton team-mate Paul Grayson.

Dawson pulled out of the New Zealand Test with a calf muscle injury, with long-time rival Bracken replacing him at scrum-half. Bracken did not do much wrong against the All Blacks, but Dawson is likely to see some game time against the Wallabies.

Bath lock Steve Borthwick retains his place on the bench, with in-form Wasps star Simon Shaw, another star against the NZ Maori, forced home with a neck injury earlier this week.

Woodward has no injury problems after Saturday's battle in Wellington.

Wasps utility back Josh Lewsey, who has a few facial scars and stitches in his head, courtesy of Ali Williams's stray boot, will take his place in the last line of England's defence once again.

England: 15 Josh Lewsey (London Wasps), 14 Jason Robinson (Sharks), 13 Will Greenwood (NEC Harlequins), 12 Mike Tindall (Bath), 11 Ben Cohen (Northampton Saints), 10 Jonny Wilkinson (Newcastle Falcons, vice-captain), 9 Kyran Bracken (Saracens), 8 Lawrence Dallaglio (London Wasps), 7 Neil Back (Leicester Tigers), 6 Richard Hill (Saracens), 5 Ben Kay (Leicester Tigers), 4 Martin Johnson (Leicester Tigers, captain), 3 Phil Vickery (Gloucester), 2 Steve Thompson (Northampton Saints), 1 Trevor Woodman (Gloucester).Replacements: 16 Mark Regan (Leeds Tykes), 17 Jason Leonard (NEC Harlequins), 18 Steve Borthwick (Bath), 19 Joe Worsley (London Wasps), 20 Matt Dawson (Northampton Saints), 21 Alex King (London Wasps), 22 Dan Luger (Harlequins).

Kick-off: 19.00 (10.00 BST, 09.00 GMT)


Next Story

Premier Rugby hits out at relegation decision

Previous Story

Gloucester’s Boer living in Springbok hope

Choose your club

Bath Rugby
Bristol Bears
Exeter Chiefs
Gloucester Rugby
Leicester Tigers
London Irish
Newcastle Falcons
Northampton Saints
Sale Sharks
Worcester Warriors
No Club