Jump to main content
Premiership Rugby

Referees confirmed for Zurich Premiership Final

A Gallagher Premiership Rugby ball

Tony Spreadbury will referee the final with Paul Emerson and Ashley Reay as touch judges. Brian Campsall will be the Television Match Official.

The Zurich Wildcard Final to decide the final English club's place in next season's Heineken Cup will be refereed by Roy Maybank. The final between Leicester Tigers and Saracens is being played at Franklin's Gardens and is broadcast live on BBC ONE kicking off at 12.30pm. The winner will automatically qualify for the Heineken Cup along side Gloucester, London Wasps, Northampton Saints, Sale Sharks and Leeds Tykes who have also already qualified.

Both finals will have a period of ten minutes extra time with a one minute interval should the scores be level after 80 minutes. In the Zurich Premiership Final, if there is still no winner after extra time Gloucester will be declared winners and therefore champions as the higher placed seed in the Premiership.

In the Zurich Wildcard Final there will be a place kicking competition should there still be a level score after extra time. A series of kicks from defined spots along the 22 metre line – the same format as was introduced by ERC this season – will determine the winner.

The winners of the Zurich Premiership Final will be crowned champions and will receive the Zurich Premiership trophy. The Zurich Man of the Match will receive the inaugural Peter Deakin Commemorative Medal which will be presented by Peter's widow Michelle.

Tickets for the final which kicks off at 3.30pm will be on sale on the day.


Next Story

Season ticket competition winner announced

Previous Story

Rotherham swoop for Leinster hooker

Choose your club

Bath Rugby
Bristol Bears
Exeter Chiefs
Gloucester Rugby
Leicester Tigers
London Irish
Newcastle Falcons
Northampton Saints
Sale Sharks
Worcester Warriors
No Club