Jump to main content
Premiership Rugby

Wilkinson wins players’ award

A Gallagher Premiership Rugby ball

More than 400 players voted, with Wilkinson taking the award ahead of some illustrious company, including Zurich Premiership Player of the Year Jake Boer of Gloucester, Saracens' England back-row Richard Hill, Sharks and Scotland skipper Bryan Redpath and Northampton forward Andrew Blowers.

"This is a very special award, and I would like to dedicate it to the team and coaches at Newcastle Falcons for all their help over the season," said Wilkinson on accepting the award.

Gloucester was one club to make a real impression at the ceremony, with their back-row prospect James Forrester beating his Gloucester team-mates Marcel Garvey and James Simpson-Daniel to be named the young player of the year.

Other award winners included Forrester's Gloucester team-mate Ludovic Mercier, Sharks' Jason Robinson and Harlequins' Jason Leonard.

PRPA award winners:

Computacenter players’ player: Jonny Wilkinson (Newcastle). Land Rover young player: James Forrester (Gloucester). Canterbury golden boot: Ludovic Mercier (Gloucester). Blyth spirit: Jarrod Cunningham (London Irish). Gerrard hall of fame: Peter Wheeler (England), Gerald Davies (Wales), Tim Horan (Australia). Premier Rugby outstanding contribution: Jason Leonard (Harlequins).


Next Story

Gloucester duo win top Zurich Premiership Awards

Previous Story

Gloucester name squad for Premiership Final

Choose your club

Bath Rugby
Bristol Bears
Exeter Chiefs
Gloucester Rugby
Leicester Tigers
London Irish
Newcastle Falcons
Northampton Saints
Sale Sharks
Worcester Warriors
No Club