Jump to main content
Premiership Rugby

England name squad for Australasian tour

A Gallagher Premiership Rugby ball

The 24-year-old's last appearance for England in February 2002 in the Six Nations clash against Ireland and the exciting attacker now has a chance to get himself back into contention and add to his 14 caps.

While there are several big name players who will not make the tour because of continuing injury problems – including Charlie Hodgson, Austin Healey, Julian White, Lewis Moody, Alex Sanderson and James Forrester – there are only three uncapped players in the party, Wasps pair Stuart Abbott and Paul Volley and Gloucester back row forward Andy Hazell.

The South African-born Abbott has been in excellent form for high-flying Wasps during their Zurich Premiership campaign and joins six other of his club mates in the squad.

Woodward has also named Bath skipper and second row Danny Grewcock, despite the fact that the 2001 Lion is likely to miss the opening two games against the New Zealand Maori on June 9 and the Test against New Zealand on June 14 after being red-carded during Sunday's Parker Pen Challenge Cup Final.

Leicester's Martin Johnson will captain the squad, while Newcastle Falcons fly-half Jonny Wilkinson takes the vice-captaincy for the trip that could help shape England's World Cup destiny.

England squad to tour Australia and NZ :

Backs: Josh Lewsey (Wasps), Jason Robinson (Sale Sharks), Iain Balshaw (Bath), Ben Cohen (Northampton), Dan Luger (Harlequins), James Simpson-Daniel (Gloucester), Will Greenwood (Harlequins), Mike Tindall (Bath), Stuart Abbott (Wasps), Ben Johnston (Saracens), Jamie Noon (Newcastle), Jonny Wilkinson (Newcastle, vice-capt), Paul Grayson (Northampton), Alex King (Wasps), Matt Dawson (Northampton), Kyran Bracken (Saracens), Andy Gomarsall (Gloucester).

Forwards: Jason Leonard (Harlequins), Mike Worsley (London Irish), Trevor Woodman (Gloucester), Graham Rowntree (Leicester), Phil Vickery (Gloucester), Steve Thompson (Northampton), Mark Regan (Leeds), Dorian West (Leicester), Martin Johnson (Leicester, capt), Ben Kay (Leicester), Danny Grewcock (Bath), Steve Borthwick (Bath), Simon Shaw (Wasps), Richard Hill (Saracens), Joe Worsley (Wasps), Neil Back (Leicester), Andy Hazell (Gloucester), Paul Volley (Wasps), Martin Corry (Leicester), Lawrence Dallaglio (Wasps).


Next Story

England name Churchill Cup squad

Previous Story

England centre re-signs for Saracens

Choose your club

Bath Rugby
Bristol Bears
Exeter Chiefs
Gloucester Rugby
Leicester Tigers
London Irish
Newcastle Falcons
Northampton Saints
Sale Sharks
Worcester Warriors
No Club