Jump to main content
Premiership Rugby

Scarbrough back in Tykes’ squad for Sarries

A Gallagher Premiership Rugby ball

In the back row, James Ponton comes in for Dan Hyde, while there are two changes in the front row.

At tighthead prop, Scotland international Gavin Kerr takes the place of captain Mike Shelley, while Rob Rawlinson deputises for Mark Regan at hooker.

The return leg of the tie takes place at Headingley on Sunday, with coach Phil Davies stating ahead of the opener: "We've still got a lot to play for.

"We've finished fifth, but winning the play-offs would give us something tangible from the season. As a club, we have never been to a Final of a major competition, add to that the opportunity togain a place in the Heineken Cup, and that is a massive carrot for the next week.

"Saracens are running into a great run of form over the past couple of weeks beating Bristol and then that magnificent win over Sale.

"I know that Wayne Shelford and his players have high standards and they will be looking to the Wildcard as a way of setting themselves up for a big season next year with a place in the Heineken Cup.

"Our games against Saracens have been some of the most competitive since we came into the Premiership, we beat them at Headingley this season and they won at their place, so honours are even going into tomorrow night's game.

"With two games in such a short space of time, we need to make sure we make the most of the squad we have available.

"A couple of the lads picked up bumps and bruises at Northampton that, in a normal week, would have cleared up for the following weekend, but Wednesday is too early to test them, especially with Sunday's return leg in mind," he said.

Leeds Tykes: 15 Diego Albanese, 14 George Harder, 13 Tristan Davies, 12 Braam van Straaten, 11 Winston Stanley, 10 Gordon Ross, 9 Alan Dickens, 8 Isaac Feaunati, 7 James Ponton, 6 Alix Popham, 5 Tom Palmer, 4 Chris Murphy, 3 Gavin Kerr, 2 Rob Rawlinson, 1 Matt Holt.Replacements: 16 Mike Shelley, 17 Justin Wring, 18 Stewart Campbell, 19 Carl Hogg, 20 Derek Hegarty, 21 Dan Scarbrough, 22 Chris Hall.

Kick-off: 19.45 BST (18.45 GMT)

By Mark Smith


Next Story

Simon Shaw

Previous Story

Sheridan becomes latest Shogun to leave

Choose your club

Bath Rugby
Bristol Bears
Exeter Chiefs
Gloucester Rugby
Leicester Tigers
London Irish
Newcastle Falcons
Northampton Saints
Sale Sharks
Worcester Warriors
No Club