Jump to main content
Premiership Rugby

Tykes change three for Gloucester

A Gallagher Premiership Rugby ball

Two of the three changes are up front, with captain Mike Shelley returning from injury at loosehead prop, with Justin Wring dropping to the bench, whilst Matt Holt misses out altogether, with Gavin Kerr at tighthead prop.

In the backline, Alan Dickens comes in for Derek Hegarty at scrum-half, while Dan Scarbrough is still ruled out with a knee injury, leaving Canadian international Winston Stanley on the left-wing.

Commented Davies: "Gloucester are a side with tremendous heritage and pedigree and the work that Nigel Melville and Dean Ryan have done at Kingsholm has galvanised the whole town behind their side and brought the success that they have craved for so long.

"They have an extremely mobile team which is not just confined to the backs and they will give us a tough assignment."

Although Tykes face an uphill battle to qualify for the Zurich Premiership Final – Gloucester have already confirmed their place for the Final at Twickenham – the chance of an automatic place in the Heineken Cup remains the big incentive for the home team.

"Depending on how results go over the next fortnight, Sunday could be the final time a number of our players play at Headingley and it would be great if we could finish on a high for them," said Davies.

"Professional rugby means that players will move on from time to time. One player in particular who is moving on is Braam van Straaten. Braam has been a fantastic servant to the club. He made a big commitment to Leeds at a time when others may have doubted what we were aiming to achieve here and we will always be thankful for his efforts at the Tykes.

"He [Braam] is moving onto Sale next season but I would like to think that he will always have fond memories of his time here at Headingley."

Leeds Tykes: 15 Diego Albanese, 14 George Harder, 13 Tristan Davies, 12 Braam van Straaten, 11 Winston Stanley, 10 Gordon Ross, 9 Alan Dickens, 8 Alix Popham, 7 Dan Hyde, 6 Cameron Mather, 5 Tom Palmer, 4 Chris Murphy, 3 Gavin Kerr, 2 Mark Regan, 1 Mike Shelley (captain).Replacements: 16 Justin Wring, 17 Rob Rawlinson, 18 Stewart Campbell, 19 Isaac Feaunati, 20 Derek Hegarty, 21 Craig Emmerson, 22 Chris Hall.

Kick-off: 14.30 BST (13.30 GMT)


Next Story

Gloucester star Mercier signs for Grenoble

Previous Story

Premiership Final Ticket News

Choose your club

Bath Rugby
Bristol Bears
Exeter Chiefs
Gloucester Rugby
Leicester Tigers
London Irish
Newcastle Falcons
Northampton Saints
Sale Sharks
Worcester Warriors
No Club