TOP BAR - Fixtures

Match Stats - Fix Info

Match Page 2017-18 - Summary

Tigers mete out eleven-try thrashing

19 Feb 2005
Tigers mete out eleven-try thrashing

Andy Goode landed thirteen kicks from thirteen, the type of consistency which England so desperately needs, and Ollie Smith, long lauded as an alternative for England at outside centre, tore his opposite number apart before he left the field.

His opposite number? None other than Mathew Tait, for whom Robinson eschewed the talents of Smith in his selection for the Wales match.

Leicester scored eleven tries, and their pack steam-rollered the Falcons with such efficiency that you wondered just how Newcastle had got to fifth position in the table.

The Falcons did briefly have the lead. The forwards provided some good line-out ball which was spun wide for a try by Mark Mayerhofler. Tom May kicked the conversion and Newcastle had seven points in answer to the three which Goode had slotted in the second minute.

The Tigers woke up, and never looked back. Neil Back and Martin Corry drove over, but the video referee denied them the try. From the subsequent scrum Austin Healey rounded off a fine back-line move. Goode kicked this conversion, and every single one after it.

Olly Smith ran in a second after a Newcastle line-out overthrow, and Daryl Gibson fed off some fine work by Healey for a third on the half-hour – this Goode conversion landed from the touchline.

May put Newcastle to within 14 points with another penalty, but from then on it was all Leicester.

Smith tore outside Mayerhofler for the fourth in first-half injury-time, and Goode's subsequent penalty made it 34-10 at the break.

Leon Lloyd got the fifth within five minutes of the restart – although there appeared to have been an infringement in the build-up to it, and Goode's interception from Tait's pass sent in Tuilagi for the sixth shortly after.

Now it was the turn of the forwards. Neil Back finished off two trademark forward drives, which sandwiched a rumbustious solo rumble from Will Johnson.

Geordan Murphy scored within seconds of entering the fray as a substitute, feeding off Corry's catch and pass from a Goode crossfield kick.

The scoring pass for Leon Lloyd's second – Leicester's eleventh and final try – was forward, but it was hardly a turning point.

The scorers:

For Leicester:Tries: Back 2, O.Smith 2, Lloyd 2, Healey, Gibson, Tuilagi, Johnson, MurphyCons: Goode 11Pens: Goode 2

For Newcastle:Tries: MayerhoflerCons: MayPens: May

Leicester Tigers: 15 Sam Vesty, 14 Leon Lloyd, 13 Ollie Smith, 12 Daryl Gibson, 11 Austin Healey, 10 Andy Goode, 9 Scott Bemand, 8 Martin Corry, 7 Neil Back, 6 Henry Tuilagi, 5 Louis Deacon, 4 Martin Johnson (captain), 3 Darren Morris, 2 George Chuter, 1 Graham Rowntree.Replacements: 16 James Buckland, 17 John Rawson, 18 Will Johnson, 19 Lewis Moody, 20 Harry Ellis, 21 Seru Rabeni, 22 Geordan Murphy

Newcastle Falcons: 15 Toby Flood, 14 Tom May, 13 Mathew Tait, 12 Mark Mayerhofler, 11 Michael Stephenson, 10 Mark Wilkinson, 9 James Grindal, 8 Semo Sititi, 7 Cory Harris, 6 Mike McCarthy, 5 Geoff Parling, 4 Luke Gross, 3 Micky Ward, 2 Matt Thompson, 1 Ian Peel (c)Replacements: 16 James Isaacson, 17 Andy Long, 18 Craig Hamilton, 19 Phil Dowson, 20 Lee Dickson, 21 Dave Walder, 22 Ollie Phillips

Referee: Tony SpreadburyTouch judges: Paul Emerson, Huw Jones-WilliamsTelevision match official: Nick Yates

For more news, try out Leicester Tigers v Newcastle Falcons

Match Page 2017-18 - Lineups

Match Page 2017-18 - Current Standing

Related News