TOP BAR - Fixtures

Taylor to lead Warriors XV in first match on new surface

Taylor to lead Warriors XV in first match on new surface

Huw Taylor will lead a Warriors Development XV as they host Bristol Rugby in the first match on the brand-new Artificial Grass Pitch at Sixways this Friday (kick-off 7.15pm).

It will be the first time for supporters to see the new-look surface as a new era gets underway at Sixways.

The last time the sides met was back in an unforgettable Championship play-off final second leg in 2015, as a last kick of the game from Ryan Lamb secured promotion back to the top-flight for Warriors.

This Friday, it's a chance for the next generation of Warriors stars to shine with 12 Academy youngsters in the squad, along with senior players Max Stelling, Tiff Eden, Derrick Appiah and former Bristol back row Marco Mama.

Jamie Shillcock starts at 15 in a back three which includes Warriors Under 18 youngster Alex Hearle and Welsh winger Josh Adams, fresh off the back of his impressive showing at the Singha Premiership Sevens where he bagged five tries.

Max Stelling starts in the centres alongside Will Butler while Tiff Eden partners George de Cothi in the half-back combination.

Derrick Appiah, Jack Singleton and Joe Morris start in the front row with the giant Charlie Hewitt and Andrew Kitchener in the second row.

Taylor leads the side from a back row which includes the experienced Mama and a return to match action for Academy flanker Zac Xiourouppa, who spent most of last season on the sidelines with injury.

Warriors Defence Coach Simon Cross, who will be overseeing the Development side, said: "It's a great occasion for this young squad to be the first to play on the new Sixways turf and they're all hungry to show what they can do.

"Bristol is always a great test. I'm sure Friday night will be no different so we're looking forward to it and hoping we can get the new era on the new turf underway with a win."

Complimentary tickets for the match are available by calling 01905 459309 while car parking will be available on the night on a first-come, first-served basis.


15 Jamie Shillcock
14 Alex Hearle (Warriors Under 18s)
13 Max Stelling
12 Will Butler
11 Josh Adams
10 Tiff Eden
9 George de Cothi

1 Derrick Appiah
2 Jack Singleton
3 Joe Morris
4 Charlie Hewitt
5 Andrew Kitchener
6 Huw Taylor (C)
7 Zac Xiourouppa
8 Marco Mama

16 Beck Cutting (Warriors Under 18s)
17 Joe White (Luctonians RFC)
18 Justin Clegg
19 Sam Ripper-Smith
20 Tom Dodd
21 Jacob Nash (Nottingham Rugby)
22 Colin Dickson (unattached)
23 Conor Bullivant (Nottingham Rugby)

To get all the latest news from Premiership Rugby sign up to our Newsletter

For more news, try out News Press Worcester Warriors