TOP BAR - Fixtures

Saracens include Lions picks for Munster showdown

Saracens include Lions picks for Munster showdown

Saracens have named all six of their recently-selected British & Irish Lions for their European Rugby Champions Cup semi-final clash with Munster at the Aviva Stadium in Dublin on Saturday (kick-off 3.15pm).

Loosehead prop Mako Vunipola is joined by fellow Lions pick Jamie George in the Saracens front row, and they are joined by Springbok international tighthead Vincent Koch, whilst Maro Itoje and George Kruis are named at lock-forward.

Billy Vunipola starts at No.8 alongside the in-form back-row duo of Michael Rhodes, at blindside flanker and Jackson Wray, at openside flanker.

In the halves, scrum-half Richard Wigglesworth partners Owen Farrell while at centre, Brad Barritt captains the side to partner Marcelo Bosch, with the Argentine midfielder making his 50th appearance in the Champions Cup.

In the back three, left-wing Sean Maitland, right-wing Chris Ashton and Alex Goode all start.

On the bench, experienced front-row duo Schalk Brits and Petrus Du Plessis are joined by USA international Titi Lamositele, whilst Jim Hamilton takes his place amongst the replacements after recovering from a back injury.

After his comeback game on Easter Sunday – Saracens’ 27-25 victory over Northampton Saints at Stadium:MK in Round 20 of the current Aviva Premiership Rugby campaign – Schalk Burger takes the other forwards replacements spot.

Ben Spencer is the replacement scrum-half, with England summer tourist to Argentina Alex Lozowski, plus the returning Chris Wyles, who is another set for his 50th Champions Cup appearance, also named in the matchday 23.

Saracens team to face Munster

15. Alex Goode

14. Chris Ashton

13. Marcelo Bosch

12. Brad Barritt (c)

11. Sean Maitland

10. Owen Farrell

9. Richard Wigglesworth

1. Mako Vunipola

2. Jamie George

3. Vincent Koch

4. Maro Itoje

5. George Kruis

6. Michael Rhodes

7. Jackson Wray

8. Billy Vunipola


16. Schalk Brits

17. Titi Lamositele

18. Petrus Du Plessis

19. Jim Hamilton

20. Schalk Burger

21. Ben Spencer

22. Alex Lozowski

23. Chris Wyles

Tickets to the Aviva Premiership Rugby Final is on 27 May at Twickenham are now on sale. If you want to have an unforgettable day out at club rugby’s best Cup Final, then click here for tickets.


To get all the latest news from Premiership Rugby sign up to our Newsletter

For more news, try out 2016-2017 News Saracens