TOP BAR - Fixtures

Sale Sharks team to face Harlequins

Sale Sharks team to face Harlequins

Steve Diamond has named his side to take on Harlequins on Friday night in the first home game of the season at the AJ Bell Stadium (kick off 8.15pm).

Diamond has  made four changes to the side that narrowly lost last week to Newcastle Falcons. Neil Briggs, Jonathan Mills, David Seymour and Paolo Odogwu come into the side to replace Rob Webber, Andrei Ostrikov, Laurence Pearce and Nev Edwards respectively.

Sale Sharks: 15. Byron McGuigan, 14. Will Addison, 13. Sam James, 12. Johnny Leota, 11.Paolo Odogwu, 10. AJ MacGinty, 9. Mike Phillips, 1. Eifion Lewis-Roberts, 2. Neil Briggs, 3. Halani Aulika, 4. Bryn Evans, 5. Jonathan Mills, 6. TJ Ioane, 7. David Seymour, 8. Josh Beaumont (c)

Replacements: 16. Cameron Neild, 17. Ross Harrison, 18. Kieran Longbottom, 19. Andrei Ostrikov, 20. Laurence Pearce, 21. James Mitchell, 22. Dan Mugford, 23. Nev Edwards.

Speaking ahead of the game, Diamond said: “We have high expectation levels here at the club. We could have done a lot better last week against Newcastle, but we will do a lot better on Friday night. It will be a tough game, Quins have got a good leadership team and new players in, so they’ll be throwing everything at us to get the win. For us, it’s back to the grindstone at the AJ Bell, and grind out another successful season at home.”

To get all the latest news from Premiership Rugby sign up to our Newsletter

For more news, try out News Sale Sharks Sale Sharks v Harlequins