TOP BAR - Fixtures

London Welsh Team v Saracens

London Welsh Team v Saracens

London Welsh make 12 changes, including four positional, for Saturday’s Round 10, Aviva Premiership fixture with Saracens at Allianz Park (KO 3pm).

Taione Vea, Peter Browne, James Down, Carl Kirwan, Lachlan McCaffrey, Olly Barkley and Eliot Kear all remain from the starting line up which lost out to Edinburgh Rugby at the Kassam Stadium last weekend in the European Rugby Challenge Cup.

In the backs, Will Robinson starts at full back with Elliot Kear moving to the left wing. Seb Stegmann is named on the right wing. Olly Barkley moves from fly half to inside centre with Nic Reynolds returning to the side at outside centre. Rob Lewis and Piri Weepu form a new look half back partnership.

In the forwards, Ricky Reeves and Koree Britton come in to the front row. Peter Browne moves from blindside flanker to the second row, while Lachlan McCaffrey takes over the number six jersey. Tonga international Optei Fonua starts at Number 8.

Flanker Carl Kirwan will captain the side.

London Welsh’s previous visit to Allianz Park in the Premiership saw the Exiles lose 35-14 to Saracens in March 2013 – Seb Stegmann scoring a try on debut for Welsh. The Exiles did, however, taste victory on the ground in September of the same year, when they beat Bedford Blues, 23-14, in their Championship curtain-raiser.

London Welsh: 15. Will Robinson, 14. Seb Stegmann, 13. Nic Reynolds, 12. Olly Barkley* 11. Elliot Kear*, 10. Piri Weepu*, 9. Rob Lewis, 1. Rickey Reeves, 2. Koree Britton, 3. Taione Vea*, 4. Peter Browne, 5. James Down, 6. Lachlan McCaffrey, 7. Carl Kirwan (C), 8. Opeti Fonua*.

Replacements: 16. Nathan Morris, 17. Nathan Trevett, 18. Ben Cooper, 19. Dean Schofield*, 20. Ben Pienaar, 21. Paul Rowley, 22. Tom May*, 23. Nick Scott.

* Denotes full international

Unavailable for selection due to injury are: Pablo Henn, Shane Cahill, Matthew Dobson, Chris Hala’ufia, Richard Thorpe, Darren Waters, James Lewis, Tristan Roberts, Tim Molenaar, Rhys Crane, Seb Jewell, Alex Davies and Alan Awcock.


To get all the latest news from Premiership Rugby sign up to our Newsletter

For more news, try out London Welsh News Press