Fixtures - Top Bar

Facts to keep in mind for the Aviva Premiership Rugby showdown


If last year’s Aviva Premiership Rugby final is anything to go by, today’s outcome will be impossible to predict – but there are nevertheless some indicators to look out for.

Since the play-offs were introduced in 2003, no team losing in the final at half-time has ever gone on to lift the crown.

And much like at full-time, the Saints were edging Saracens in the 2014 final by the slenderest of leads – Ben Foden's converted try bettering two Owen Farrell penalties in the first 40.

However, statistics can only go so far, with Saracens one of just four sides to have scored first in the Aviva Premiership Rugby Final before going on to lose the match.

Despite Leicester Tigers' near-perennial presence at the Twickenham showpiece of late – appearing in nine successive finals between 2005 and 2013 – nine clubs in total have made appearances.

Gloucester Rugby, Wasps, Bath Rugby, Sale Sharks, London Irish, Saracens, Harlequins and Northampton have all appeared at one stage or another over the last 12 years.

Leicester won four of those nine finals in a row but Wasps have the best strike rate, appearing in four between 2003 and 2008 and winning them all.

But the club to have arguably made the biggest impression in one final is Sale, who racked up 45 points – the most by a single team – on their way to beating Leicester in the 2006 showdown.

Stat Attack
1.    The highest score in a final is Sale's 45 points against Leicester in 2006.
2.    No team has ever been losing at half-time in the final and gone on and win the crown!
3.    Just four sides have scored first in the final but eventually lost the match.
4.    Nine different clubs have played in a Premiership final (Exeter may make it 10).
The list of clubs – Gloucester, Wasps, Bath, Leicester, Sale, London Irish, Saracens, Harlequins, Northampton.
5.    Wasps played in four finals between 2003-08 and won them all.
6.    Leicester played in nine successive finals between 2005-13, winning four and losing five.

Latest News

Fenton-Wells confident Lam will make impact at Bristol Rugby

Bristol Rugby flanker Nick Fenton-Wells is confident the club have acquired a top coach in Pat Lam but won’t let…

Generated by  IJG JPEG Library

Aaron Morris desperate for Quins to sort out away form

Aaron Morris is proud of Harlequins’ record at the Stoop but the full-back has warned his teammates the season will…

Generated by  IJG JPEG Library

Dowson and Barry educate Warriors Under 18s

Phil Dowson and Darren Barry gave some time on Monday evening to provide valuable advice to Warriors Under 18s, who…

Worcester Warriors Academy

Geoff Parling: Chiefs can draw European inspiration from last season’s heroics

Following two defeats from two, qualification for the European knock-out stages may look like mission improbable – but if there’s…


Sam Egerton ready for fierce Lyon challenge

Scrum-half Sam Egerton believes Newcastle Falcons can push on and meet ‘fire with fire’ against Lyon in the European Rugby…

Sam Egerton making a break against Ospreys in the Challenge Cup

Premiership Rugby clubs in Europe live on TV

Aviva Premiership Rugby’s finest return to European Rugby Champions Cup and Challenge Cup action this weekend looking to build on…


Freddie Burns ecstatic to have stepped up after Aviva Premiership Rugby Player of the Month award

Freddie Burns’ impressive displays have seen him named Aviva Premiership Rugby Player of the Month for November and the Leicester…

Generated by  IJG JPEG Library

Gloucester Rugby confirm new deal for scrum-half Callum Braley

Ahead of this evening's fixture with La Rochelle, Gloucester Rugby are pleased to confirm the next re-signing for the 2017/18…

Callum Braley

Josh Beaumont backs Sale Sharks’ new boys to shine

Marquee summer signings AJ MacGinty and Josh Charnley are primed and ready to make their presence felt in the second…

Generated by  IJG JPEG Library

Freddie Burns named Aviva Premiership Rugby Player of the Month for November 2016

Leicester Tigers’ outside-half Freddie Burns has “got his strut back” and this has led to him being named Aviva Premiership…


Match officials for this weekend’s European fixtures

Northampton Saints will face Leinster in a rematch of the memorable 2011 final as the European Rugby Champions Cup returns…


Worcester Warriors ‘unlucky’ in defeat to Wasps, says Ryan Bower

Worcester Warriors prop Ryan Bower admits it was important for his side to put in a performance against Wasps after their humbling Aviva Premiership Rugby defeat…

Photo by Tony Marshall/Getty Images

In-form Henry Purdy desperate to keep improving at Gloucester Rugby

Henry Purdy is refusing to rest on his laurels and has vowed to push on hard, despite praise from all…

Generated by  IJG JPEG Library

Max Clark the centre of attention at Bath Rugby

Back in September – just when Bath Rugby were beginning to count on him in the centres – an ill-timed…

Generated by  IJG JPEG Library

Seven tries success for Exeter Braves over Bath United

Exeter Braves’ Shaun Malton and Levi Davis of Bath United became the first opponents since 2005 to both score hat-tricks…

Generated by  IJG JPEG Library