Fixtures - Top Bar

Aviva Premiership Rugby stars selected for 2017 British & Irish Lions Tour

No fewer than 19 Aviva Premiership Rugby stars will represent the league in New Zealand this summer, after they were selected by Warren Gatland today for the 2017 British & Irish Lions Tour.

Gatland unveiled the 41-man squad at midday, which includes 16 Englishmen – with Saracens second-row Maro Itoje the youngest in the ranks at the age of 22.

Aviva Premiership Rugby and European champions Saracens understandably dominate the English contingent, with Owen Farrell, Jamie George, Itoje, George Kruis, and the Vunipola brothers all included.

Jack Nowell, Elliot Daly and Ben Te’o are the sole representatives from Exeter Chiefs, Wasps and Worcester Warriors respectively, while Leicester Tigers boast England’s Ben Youngs and Dan Cole.

Harlequins also have two representatives in Kyle Sinckler and Joe Marler, while Bath Rugby’s English contingent includes Jonathan Joseph and Anthony Watson, and Courtney Lawes will represent Northampton Saints.

There were also 12 players included from Ireland, two Scots, and 11 from Wales in the squad – with Ross Moriarty (Gloucester Rugby), Taulupe Faletau (Bath), and George North (Northampton Saints) all making the cut from west of the border.

Wales’s Sam Warburton will lead the Lions for a second consecutive Tour, an honour only ever achieved once before by Leicester Tigers legend Martin Johnson in 1997 and 2001.

And Gatland insists every single player in his travelling squad will be given the chance to challenge for Test selection – provided they show the right attitude on Tour.

“Everyone will get the opportunity. Looking at the potential combinations that we have got, we think it is going to be really competitive,” he said.

“The message to the players is that, if you have been selected, then you must go with the confidence that you are good enough to be part of the Test XV.

“Some of them are going to be disappointed that they have missed out but you have got to put your hand up and have that belief, you have to be competitive and fight hard at training and be committed in terms of your contributions in training and meetings.

“There is a huge amount going into that, so the message to those players is to come and be part of the squad, but not just to make up the numbers.

“If you are here to just make up numbers then there is no way you are going be part of the Test squad.

“We hope everyone is going out with the attitude that if things go well enough for me I am good enough to start in a Test.”



Dan Biggar – Wales

Elliot Daly – England (Wasps)

Jonathan Davies – Wales

Owen Farrell – England (Saracens)

Leigh Halfpenny – Wales

Robbie Henshaw – Ireland

Stuart Hogg – Scotland

Jonathan Joseph – England (Bath Rugby)

Conor Murray – Ireland

George North – Wales (Northampton Saints)

Jack Nowell – England (Exeter Chiefs)

Jared Payne – Ireland

Jonathan Sexton – Ireland

Tommy Seymour – Scotland

Ben Te’o – England (Worcester Warriors)

Anthony Watson – England (Bath Rugby)

Rhys Webb – Wales

Liam Williams – Wales

Ben Youngs – England (Leicester Tigers)



Rory Best – Ireland

Dan Cole – England (Leicester Tigers)

Taulupe Faletau – Wales (Bath Rugby)

Tadhg Furlong – Ireland

Jamie George – England (Saracens)

Iain Henderson – Ireland

Maro Itoje – England (Saracens)

Alun Wyn Jones – Wales

George Kruis – England (Saracens)

Courtney Lawes – England (Northampton Saints)

Joe Marler – England (Harlequins)

Jack McGrath – Ireland

Ross Moriarty – Wales (Gloucester Rugby)

Sean O’Brien – Ireland

Peter O’Mahony – Ireland

Ken Owens – Wales

Kyle Sinckler – England (Harlequins)

CJ Stander – Ireland

Justin Tipuric – Wales

Mako Vunipola – England (Saracens)

Billy Vunipola – England (Saracens)

Sam Warburton (Captain) – Wales

Latest News

Saracens and London Irish to kick off the season at Twickenham

SARACENS and London Irish will help launch the 2017-18 Premiership Rugby season after being chosen as the home sides for…

George North gets first 2017 tour try in dramatic British & Irish Lions draw

The British & Irish Lions concluded their midweek fixture list in New Zealand with a thrilling 31-31 draw against the…

Newcastle Falcons can’t wait for trip to Philadelphia

Newcastle Falcons director of rugby Dean Richards believes that the second Aviva Premiership Rugby regular season match in America can…

Dean Richards

Mark Reddish retires from rugby

Harlequins second row Mark Reddish has today (Tuesday 27th June) announced that he will retire from the game due to…

Mark Reddish

Aviva Premiership Rugby stars to feature heavily in Lions final midweek game

EIGHT Aviva Premiership players will start the British & Irish Lions’ final midweek game tomorrow looking to force their way…

Teofilo Paulo excited by London Irish move but will miss home cooking

Samoan international Teofilo Paulo is making the most of his mum’s cooking ahead of the summer move to London Irish.…

British & Irish Lions beaten in first Test by New Zealand

Two second-half tries from winger Rieko Ioane helped New Zealand to a 30-15 victory in the first Test against the…

Harlequins Ladies coach savours upcoming Women’s Super Rugby season

Women’s sport is booming according to former Richmond prop and Scotland captain Karen Findlay, who is now relishing the prospect…

Aviva Tackling Numbers programme celebrated at Corporate Engagement Awards

Premiership Rugby and its Aviva Tackling Numbers programme enjoyed not one but two moments in the spotlight at the Corporate…

Corporate Engagement Awards

Lions ready for battle on eve of All Blacks Test

After months of waiting and weeks of build-up, The British & Irish Lions are ready to face the toughest challenge…

Ex-England star Susie Appleby excited to lead Gloucester-Hartpury in inaugural Women’s Super Rugby campaign

Former England international Susie Appleby believes it’s an exciting time for women’s rugby as she issues a rallying cry to…

Wasps confirm 2017/18 pre-season schedule

Wasps have today confirmed their 2017/18 pre-season schedule, which will see them face Connacht Rugby and Ulster Rugby, as well…

Wasps celebrate

Quartet sign Academy contracts with Bath Rugby

Bath Rugby is delighted to confirm that Rhys Davies, Wil Partington, Miles Reid, and Kieran Verden have all signed long-term…

Todd Blackadder

Clare Daniels hoping to inspire the next generation of female rugby referees

The first female official in Aviva Premiership Rugby history, Clare Daniels, has urged girls and women to take up officiating…

Luke McLean enthused by London Irish move

Luke McLean is looking to reignite his international career under Italy Head Coach Conor O’Shea following his summer move to…

All Black Francis Saili joins Harlequins

Harlequins is excited to confirm today (Wednesday 21st June) that All Black Francis Saili has joined the Club. Commenting on…

Francis Saili

Bath Rugby sign Phillips from Bristol Rugby

Bath Rugby is pleased to announce the signing of James Phillips, who has joined the Club from Bristol Rugby until…


Nowell gets two tries as Lions see off Chiefs in Hamilton

Exeter Chiefs’ Jack Nowell returned to his sparkling best with two tries for the British & Irish Lions in their…

Nalaga a big coup for Irish says international teammate Tikoirotuma

Explosive wing Napolioni Nalaga can be an big hit in every sense of the word during next season's Aviva Premiership…