TOP BAR - Fixtures

Aviva Premiership Rugby Player of the Month named

Aviva Premiership Rugby Player of the Month named

EXETER CHIEFS’ James Short has been named Aviva Premiership Rugby Player of the Month for February 2017.

Short was judged by a panel of experts as the man who made the biggest impact in the League and his role has been praised by England Rugby World Cup winner Will Greenwood.

“James is a player I have long admired,” said Greenwood. “He has great work rate, energy, desire.

“James is a team player and has to wait for games sometimes. But when opportunities are offered he gobbles them up as well as the tries!”

Short was involved in a three-way battle for this month’s title, eventually beating two other wings: Sale Sharks Denny Solomona and Vereniki Goneva from Newcastle Falcons.

Short was voted for by a panel of media professionals based on his performances in November – Nick Mullins (BT Sport), Alastair Eykyn (BT Sport), Mick Cleary (The Daily Telegraph), Sarah Mockford (Rugby World), Jonny Fordham (The Sun), Jill Douglas (ITV Sport), Chris Jones (BBC 5 Live), David Rogers (Getty Images) and Ben Coles (Planet Rugby). The panel was chaired by Paul Morgan, Premiership Rugby’s Communications Director.

Short wins a trophy and a £250 donation to the charity of his choice.

Winners in the 2016-17 season
February – James Short (Exeter Chiefs)
December – Tom Varndell (Bristol Rugby)
November – Freddie Burns (Leicester Tigers)
October – Mako Vunipola (Saracens)
September – Jimmy Gopperth (Wasps)

Winners in the 2015-16 season
October – Nick Evans (Harlequins)
November – Nathan Hughes (Wasps)
December – Maro Itoje (Saracens)
January – Thomas Waldrom (Exeter Chiefs)
February – George Smith (Wasps)
March – Francois Hougaard (Worcester Warriors)
April – Teimana Harrison (Northampton Saints)

Winners in the 2014-15 season
September – Kyle Eastmond (Bath Rugby)
October – Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath Rugby)
November – Thomas Waldrom (Exeter Chiefs)
December – Samu Manoa (Northampton Saints)
January – Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby)
February – Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)
March – Elliot Daly (Wasps)
April – Joe Simpson (Wasps)

Winners in the 2013-14 season
September – Jacques Burger (Saracens)
October – Samu Manoa (Northampton Saints)
November – George Ford (Bath Rugby)
December – Nick Easter (Harlequins)
January – Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints)
February – Vereniki Goneva (Leicester Tigers)
March – Danny Cipriani (Sale Sharks)
April – Chris Ashton (Saracens)

Tickets are now on sale for Sunday’s Anglo-Welsh Cup Final at the Twickenham Stoop between Exeter Chiefs and Leicester Tigers. Click here to snap one up.

To get all the latest news from Premiership Rugby sign up to our Newsletter

For more news, try out 2016-2017 Exeter Chiefs James Short News