TOP BAR - Fixtures

Wasps name team for first pre-season fixture against Ulster

Wasps name team for first pre-season fixture against Ulster

Dai Young has named a 26-man squad to take on Ulster Rugby at Kingspan Stadium in the first pre-season fixture ahead of the 2017/18 season, on Thursday 17 August, kick off 7.30pm.

The game will be an opportunity for players to test their fitness and skills, with some of the club’s new signings getting a chance to show what they can do in black and gold, as Wasps face a strong Ulster side in Ireland.

The squad sees 26 players named for Thursday night’s pre-season opener, with new signings Marcus Watson, Gaby Lovobalavu, Antonio TJ Harris, Juan De Jongh, Ben Harris and Paul Doran-Jones all included.

Ahead of the game, Director of Rugby Dai Young said: “We’re all looking forward to our first hit out on Thursday night. After a lot of hard work I’m sure the players will be delighted that the first warm-up game has finally come around and the end of a tough pre-season is in sight.

“We know that Ulster will provide a very stern challenge for us on Thursday night and the game is set to be a real test, against a very good side.

“Both teams will be looking to implement new strategies and systems, as well as bedding in some new faces before the new campaign kicks off.

“From a Wasps’ point of view, I’m happy with how our pre-season preparations have gone so far. The boys have been working hard and Thursday’s game will give us a good indication of exactly where we are.”

Wasps continue their pre-season schedule back at the Ricoh Arena on Wednesday 23 August as the men in black and gold take on Connacht Rugby, kick off 7.30pm, with tickets for the game available to purchase online at

The regular Aviva Premiership season then kicks off as Wasps host Sale Sharks on the opening weekend at the Ricoh Arena on Saturday 2 September, kick off 3pm.

Wasps team to face Ulster Rugby:

Rob Miller, Marcus Watson, Brendan Macken, Gaby Lovobalavu, Josh Bassett, Danny Cipriani, Craig Hampson, Simon McIntyre, Ashley Johnson, Jake Cooper-Woolley, Will Rowlands, Kearnan Myall, Jack Willis, Guy Thompson, Alex Rieder

Replacements: Tom Cruse, Ben Harris, Paul Doran-Jones, Matt Symons, Marcus Garratt, Antonio TJ Harris, Dan Robson, Juan De Jongh, Guy Armitage, Christian Wade, Owain James

To get all the latest news from Premiership Rugby sign up to our Newsletter

For more news, try out 2017-2018 News Wasps